STREETS,  HOMES, AND FARMS

 

 





NORTHEAST SAYVILLE -
NORTH & SOUTH MAIN STREET





MAIN STREET, NORTH SIDE


NORTH/NORTHWEST SAYVILLE



MAIN STREET, SOUTH SIDE



SOUTHEAST SAYVILLE


SOUTHWEST SAYVILLE
 


WEST SAYVILLE
 

 

 

NORTHEAST SAYVILLE -
NORTH & SOUTH MAIN STREET

 

NORTHEAST SAYVILLE: In the early years of the 20th Century, deeds were still being written from "point to point" rather than in distance and degrees.  Consequently, one might a border running from a road to "a certain ditch and bank now or late of. ", to the "head of the neck line", to some other geographic or stone marker. In Northeast Sayville, one of the markers was  the "Gore Tract" from Sayville to Patchogue which, in this  area, ran about a mile north of Montauk Highway, about in line with present day Loop Drive (south) and the Sayville Fire Sub-Station. For the Greene Wildwood Farm and Oelkers, Archie Brown's, Negreen's and Parkhill Farms, all shared the same northern boundary. A later "northern boundary" was the arrival of the Sunrise Highway which had ended at Great River. The segment from the southern end of the Veteran's Highway to East Patchogue was opened in January 1954 but the connecting segment north of Sayville was not completed until September of that year. The latter brought increasing plans for development as well as increasing land and home prices. In August 1955, the Town of Islip announced that (for the Township) it had issued 3,638 building permits in 1954 and a record of  2,419 permits in the first seven months of 1955.

 

OLD MONTAUK HIGHWAY

 

 

 

Wildwood Farms, home of Ralph C. Greene above Greene's Pond

(Sans Souci Lakes), August 1915

 

Image: Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum

 

WILDWOOD FARMS, Old Montauk Highway Avenue east of Old Broadway Avenue:  Ralph C. Greene, son of Isaac H. Greene and Sarah A. Snedecor Greene, was born in Sayville in 1875 and died September 4, 1958. His parents, most significantly owned  all the land on the west side of Candee Avenue from present Maple Street to the Bay. He served as District Attorney of Suffolk County for two terms and as U. S. Attorney for the Eastern New York District from 1922 to 1926. Apparently, he acquired Wildwood Farms, a chicken farm, about 1900.   

BROADWAY AVENUE / OLD BROADWAY AVENUE: On 1888 Maps, Broadway Avenue from the Holbrook area connected with Lincoln Avenue from Bohemia at about Partington Street and they jointly became "China Road" (now Lincoln Avenue) down to Montauk Highway; by 1909, that route via Lincoln Avenue had become Coates Avenue above Church Street.  Both Broadway Avenue and Old Broadway were in place, mostly encompassing farms and woods, and were generally regarded as being in Bayport.

 

 

 

The Oelkers Farm House and  Family, Old Montauk Highway, 1911

 

Image: courtesy of Alice Gray

 

 

OELKERS FARM, Old Montauk Highway: On June 30, 1906, George W. Oelkers and family of Brooklyn acquired from Cornelius Houser a 35-acre berry farm on North Country Road (Montauk Highway) which the Housers had purchased from George W. Lane on June 11, 1870. The purchase also included a house, barn and two work-sheds for $3,000; taxes were five dollars a year. The farm produced all kinds of berries, currants, pears and apples. George Oelkers was a carpenter and builder and the family continued to live in Brooklyn, coming out in the summer by horse and carriage (14 hour trip);  the family cow also traveled back and forth by freight car and had a stable reserved for her at both ends so that she provide fresh milk year-round.

 


 

The Oelkers Family, 1911

 

 

 

Long Farm and Family, Undated

 

Images: left, courtesy of Alice Gray; left, collection of the Sayville Library

 

In 1912, Oelkers purchased the 55-acre Elmer Lane farm which adjoined his property on the north; thus, he had all of the land between Broadway and Old Broadway from Montauk Highway to the "Three Mile Tract" or just short of where the Sayville Fire Department Sub-station stands today, 75 % of it wooded. The family moved to Sayville permanently but he continued, over the years gradually shifting his work from the City to the Country. He  considered building on his land and planned for some of the streets but the only one still existing today was what he called Linden Street,  Lilac Lane  today. On April 1, 1931, he sold almost one-half-acre on the corner of Broadway Avenue and Montauk Highway to James Bolton who moved his antique business there (see Business: The Golden Eagle). After George Oelkers sudden death in February 1948, the farm was acquired by developers; the farm house still stands.

CATHY HOMES:  After obtaining a change of zoning from "AA" to "A", Cathy Homes purchased 75 acres from the George Oelkers Estate on June 5, 1953; this property was bounded by Broadway and Old Broadway, existing properties on Montauk Highway (e. g., Golden Eagle ) on the south and the Chapman property on the north. At the time, it was described as "the largest single housing development in the history of Sayville"; the Company anticipated building 150 to 200 houses on A size plots to be offered at $12,000. Building appears to have begun at the southern end of the land (Lumur Drive). Sometime thereafter, the property was acquired by RONALD HOMES.

RONALD HOMES:  Harold Roth was a builder, beginning in Queens in the 1930s. In the 1940s, he and his son Ronald established RONALD HOMES, headquartered in Hicksville and, into the early 1960s, were major builders in both Nassau and Suffolk Counties; their developments included Cameo at Westbury, Syosset Ranch Village and Indian Head Estates at Kings Park. In Sayville, their property was subsequently subdivided among four segments: Florence Manor and Ronald 1 south of Ronald Lane and Ronald 2 and Indian Head north.

FLORENCE MANOR: In December 1954, a roughly nine acre segment in the southeast corner of the original Cathy Homes purchase bordering on Old Broadway was designated Florence Manor. Original maps showed it divided into one large and three small plots with an average depth of about 190 feet. A later document (January 1959) indicates it extended to Broadway Avenue at a point 275 feet north of its intersection with Lumur Drive.

RONALD HOMES:  Ronald Homes operations appear to have begun about 1958 and were split, at Ronald Lane, into sections 1, south of and 2, north of. The group applied to the TOI to establish a lighting district in section 1 in September 1959 and in section 2 in October 1960 which may have been when development building began on those sites; some privately built homes in the south had been constructed earlier.

 

 

 

 

Images: Newsday, April 27, 1957 & August 10, 1957

 

INDIAN HEAD  DEVELOPMENT: Construction of these homes at the northern end of the old Oelkers Farm began in 1957 and about 60 homes had been completed by the end of 1961. However, in  August 1960, a new section of for this group was opened with  a model home on the corner of Broadway and Lilac Lane; it was on a plot 80 by 150 feet and had a formal dining room, living room and kitchen with adjoining breakfast room, a den with a wood burning fireplace and three bedrooms for $15,500. The opening of the new Sunrise elementary school in September 1960 encouraged primarily families with children. A fatal fire in Indian Head area also brought the nearby Sayville Fire Department substation, itself, dedicated in October 1984.

BROADWAY AVENUE, West Side:  After much discussion, zoning was introduced in May 1936 and the west side of Broadway was all zoned "Residential A". In December 1941, an application was made to establish an airfield on land  there, apparently partially within the Gore Tract; the application was finally approved in 1945, Allan Thomas bought the land and Sayville Airport was opened (for more details on Sayville Airport, see:  Business: Sayville - North of the Tracks). The Airport closed following a severe storm in September 1954, the land reverted to "Residential A"  and was sold to Remson Homes in June 1955 for $340,000; Remson was said to be planning 300 homes for the site, adjacent to Sunrise Highway (see below). A 16-acre segment to the south and west of the airport was purchased by the Sayville Public Schools.

SAYVILLE MEWS:   In March 1964, the Town Board, under its new "open space", gave approval for a 71-acre development of 124 houses on a northern part of the old Budenos Farm (see below), generally encompassing Bethesda, Potomac and Loop. At the same time, it reserved 25 acres on the south with an attractive grove of trees for a public park to be operated by the TOI. (See: Public Buildings, Parks and Broadway Avenue Park/ Islip Grange).

BROADWAY DAIRY:   John Budenos, born in Lithuania in 1888, came to the United States at the age of 16. In his early years he worked for the Bourne Estate in West Sayville. While still working there, he acquired one cow and delivered his milk by bicycle on his way to work. In early 1919, he rented the Slater Farm (also see below) and began to broaden his milk route. In the February 1920, Archie Brown gave up his milk route and sold his farm on the west side of Broadway Avenue as well as his cows to John Budenos. In the early 1930s, when there was a tuberculosis epidemic, Budenos was able to bring in disease-free cows  from upstate which helped him spurt ahead of his local competitors.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Images: Suffolk County News

 

In May 1935, he acquired the neighboring Parkhill Farm and in July 1936, he bought the adjacent 44-acre Negreen farm, stretching from Montauk Highway to the north. In the 1940s, Broadway introduced "double protected milk for your protection", " 'Cellophane' hoods to keep milk extra pure. Extra protected. Easy to reseal". By 1960, John Budenos  had over 800 animals, one of the largest dairy herds on Long Island, but signified that he was ready to retire in a new house he was building nearby.  Unfortunately, he died on February 12, 1964, before he could move in.    

 

 

 

Site of old Budenos Dairy Farm from air, 1969

 

Image: Town of Islip Archives

 

MONTAUK HIGHWAYIn  June 1958, the State Highway Department initiated a major half-million dollar project to eliminate sharp turns between Sayville and McConnell Avenue in Bayport, most notably a  sharp curve  immediately west of Broadway Avenue which had been the scene of numerous automobile accidents and several serious fatalities over the years; this shifted the main traffic artery slight south, resulting in  Old Montauk Highway.

WINTHROP GREEN, north side around Lowell Road:   Development was billed as a $3. 5 million project financed by the Dime Savings Bank of Brooklyn. Builder Samuel Greenhaus & Company opened its first model home here in January 1955. The Company planned to construct up to 300 houses, dependent upon public demand. Houses were to be three bedroom front-to-rear split level having a finished recreation room and a kitchen equipped with a built-in wall oven; they were designed by Alwin Cassens Jr. to sell at $11,900. Cassens he also designing the houses for Brookwood Village (West Sayville/Oakdale), each to have four bedrooms two baths and dressing rooms, full basement and carport for $12,990.

SUNRISE HEIGHTS, centered on Sayville Boulevard from North Country Road/Montauk Highway to Sunrise Drive:  Fearing their property would be taken away from them and developed, in November 1914 a group of members of the Sayville Golf Club (see Clubs: Sayville Golf) formed the Sayville Boulevard Land Company and bought the 64-acre W. R. Slater farm on North Country Road which they began preparing as a future site for an 18-hole course. In the following years, aviators, including the Military, discovered that the new links were a fine landing place and continued using them as such until the land was re-sold. On Sunday afternoons, barnstorming pilots would offer sightseeing flights to those daring enough to go up in the wood and fabric flying machines of the time.

 

 

 

Barnstormers in WWI aircraft on site, 1922

 

 

 

 


 

 

Images: top left, courtesy of Cradle of Aviation Museum/Chuck Webber Collection;

all others, Suffolk County News

 

By the summer of 1919, the Club decided to buy their leased property on Candee Avenue and Ralph C. Green took the Slater Farm as part of the price. On November 13, 1924, having pre-sold 91 of the lots, the Land Company - notably Jean DePaye and John St. Lawrence (see Business: Main Street) - bought the land back from Greene to develop  Sunrise Heights; at the same time, they began to clear 41 acres adjoining the Farm on the west on which they were about to close on a 30-day option. On Thanksgiving evening at 6 P. M. at the Court House, there was a drawing for Lot 140 and the following Sunday afternoon, a more formal celebration on a plaza at the entrance to the new development.

 

 

NORTH  MAIN STREET

 

 

 

Rogers Ice Plant at the Railroad Tracks (east side), 1911

(See Business for details)

 

 

 

 

#239, Mrs. Margaret Brush, August 1915

 

 

 

 

 

#107, Dr. William H. Ross Home, August 1915

 

Images: top, Geo. W, Richardson; bottom, Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum

 

#239, Mrs. G. R. (Margaret) BRUSH:   Margaret Ann Brush, only surviving child of Captain Jacob and Elizabeth Edwards Smith, was born in Sayville on May 12, 1840 and died March 9, 1916. She had married Dr. George Rawson Brush, a Navy Surgeon, in 1864; he remained in the Service until his death in California November 9, 1894. Mrs. Brush inherited from her parents extensive business and residential properties in the Village and was said to be a very good business woman, never hard or oppressive; consequently, over time, she made significant additions her portfolio. Her estate was divided equally between her two cousins, Ida  F. Gillette and Charles R. Brown.

#107, DR WILLIAM H. ROSS HOMESTEAD:  In 1859, Sayville students outgrew their second one-room schoolhouse and a new two-story, two-room (later expanded to four-room) clapboard building was built (on the site of the present day Fire Department). By 1888, the 375 enrolled pupils were re-located to the new "modern" building on Greene Avenue and the old one was sold for $3,335 to become a residence. Dr. William H. Ross (1881-1935, a family doctor who had been born in Brooklyn and started practicing medicine in Flushing moved here in 1908. He was an active member of the local school board as well as a member of local lodges and medical societies. In 1922, he opened an office in Patchogue  but six or seven years later was forced to move to California to recover his health. He later returned to Patchogue where he died. His house was demolished in 1935 to make room for the new Firehouse on the corner of Lincoln Avenue.                       

 

 

 

#85, Original Methodist Church, built 1848

(later, Catholic Church (1890s) & Masonic Lodge

 

 

 

#9, Bedell House & Tavern, built about 1830

(later, Kensington Hotel)

 

Images: left, Collection of Tony Brinkmann; right, collection of Sayville Library

 

 

SPARROW PARK

 

 

Masonic Temple, Sparrow Park & Grand Central, 1911

(See Business for details)

 

 

 

Sparrow Park, late 1940s

 

 

 

Last Fire Call for "Old Cannonball", Dick Oelkers

and Howie Reeve, December 24, 1943

 

Image: left, collection of the Sayville Library; right, courtesy of Sayville Fire Department

 

SOUTH  MAIN STREET/MIDDLE ROAD:  In the early 1800s,  a number of big farms were bought from the Nicoll Family in what is now Bayport.  In 1834, a road was opened connecting the various farm houses, usually built close to the middles of the farms; thus it was known as Middle Road.

  


South Main Street

South Main Street, postmarked 1912




 

Middle Road to Bayport, Meadowcroft on left,

postmarked, 1912

 

 

 

#2, South Main & Gillette Avenue, 1913

 

 

 

#16, Brush Block, 1915

 

 

 

About 1960

 

 

 

#101,  Holmes, blacksmith & carriage repair, 1905

 

 

 

#105, H. L. Terry bought Holmes property and expanded Holmes building,  January 1908

 

Images: Top row, collection of the Sayville Library; middle, Suffolk County News;

bottom left, Geo. W. Richardson; right, Suffolk County News

 

#131, CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH  and RECTORY:  The first Parsonage was built in 1869; it was replaced with the one above at a cost of $2,000. In 1950, a new Parsonage was purchased on the west side of Candee Avenue; six years later, that one was "traded" for another building on the other side of the street. In 1986, the one on Candee Avenue was replaced by still another on Collins Avenue. Today, the 1872 Parsonage (shown below), since enlarged, houses the Church offices and library.  (For details on the Church, please see Churches)

 

 

 

#131,Congregational Church and Rectory

 

 

 

#154, George A. Robinson

 

Images: left, collection of the Sayville Library; right, from a Private Collection

 

#154, DR. GEORGE A ROBINSON:  Amelia A. Foster, daughter of Andrew D. Foster and Ann Eliza Brown, was born in Wading River in 1834, died in 1918. Dr. Robinson was born in Newmarket, ON in 1851 and died at his winter residence in St Augustine, FL February 22, 1908. He was educated in Canada and at the State University of Iowa. He met his wife after he arrived in Sayville and they were married in 1881. Dr. Robinson was not only a popular physician but also served two terms in the New York State Assembly. He bought the house, originally built in Bayport in 1765, in 1887 and lived in it until his death. Later, it had multiple uses, lastly as an antique shop (See Business: South Main Street for more details). The house burned down on Christmas night, 1975. Today. a medical clinic is on the site.

#257, ST. ANN'S RECTORY:   St Ann's Rectory was built in 1878 at a cost of $1,600;  it was immediately adjacent to the Church building, which at the time was the original St Barnabas Chapel, renamed St Ann's in 1875 at the request of John R. Suydam, a major contributor.  

 

 

 

#257, St Ann's Rectory & Church, 1967

 

 


Images: left, collection of the Sayville Library;

right, from Jack Whitehouse, Sayville Orphan Heroes. Charleston, SC: The History Press, 2001

 

In 1887, the Chapel was moved to the northeast to be the Parish Hall, connected to the newly-constructed stone Church, designed by I. H. Green, Jr. The Rectory was moved back from the Highway in 1922.                    

#268, CHILDREN'S COTTAGES:  On her death in 1916, half of Margaret Brush's properties went to her cousin, Ida Gillette (see above). In 1921, Gillette gave six and on-half acres on South Main to the Church Charity Foundation for construction of an Episcopal orphanage. However, it was never referred to as such but as a home for needy children. On December 1, 1923, the first cornerstone was laid at the Brush Memorial for the Burgess Cottage (at right in the above photo). The first "inmates" moved in on July 5, 1924, girls in the Burgess, boys in the Gray House (later moved to Bayport). The Swett Cottage (identical to the Burgess) was completed  in 1926; each could accommodate 20 children. The Cottages closed in 1943 for financial reasons, later reopened and then closed again in 1954. (For more details, please see Churches. ) The Burgess Building now houses the Church Thrift Shop, the Swett Building has been occupied by the Sayville Project and is now used by the Parish for various meetings.

#299, MEADOW CROFT, Robert B. Roosevelt:   Please see Clubs: Sayville Yacht and Museums; also Public Buildings, Parks and Memorials for photos and more details.

 

Return to Start of Page

 

MAIN STREET, NORTH SIDE

FOR COMMENT ON NON-RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS PICTURED,
 PLEASE SEE APPROPRIATE SECTION: BUISINESS, CHURCHES, ETC.

  RAILROAD TO GREENE AVENUES

 

 

 

Wilson J. Terry Store, 1900

Sons Isaac G. & Morris J. were later partners

 

 

 

Wahn & Terry Buildings (John Wood Homestead) and Kensington Hotel

 

 

 

Bedell Homestead, built 1839, moved back to Center Street  August 1926

 

 

 

Edwards & Community Trust Buildings (to right of tree) replaced Bedell Homestead

 

Images: both left, collection of Sayville Library; both right, collection of George Spruce

 

#15 & 19,  JOHN WOOD HOMESTEAD (TERRY BUILDING):   In 1920, H. L. Terry, a jeweler, had become a large property owner and acquired the John Wood (first school teacher and wrote first history of Sayville in 1876) property just west of the original Wilson  J. Terry store. (See Business: South Main Street and Main Street- North Side). He moved the Wood Family homestead from the center to the southeast corner, flush with Main Street, extended the rear of the building and renovated it to accommodate two stores on the ground floor and offices above.

 #53, BEDELL HOMESTEAD:   The Bedell Homestead was built about 1839, probably by Daniel Aldrich. Wilson J. Terry and his family moved in in 1840 and their sons - Louis, Isaac G. and twin Morris J. - and two daughters were born here. In their long life-times, the two twins always lived within 100 yards of their birthplace, first when the moved to the Woglum House at Main and Gillette and then when they built their own homes, just west on Main Street (see below). The Terry family was followed in the (eventually) Bedell Homestead about 1847 by Justice of the Peace Charles T. Strong. He was followed by the Charles Smith family and lastly around 1880 by Captain William H. Bedell, his wife  and his sister Miss Emily. Bedell was the son of William Bedell who had in the 1830s acquired the tavern at the corner or Railroad Avenue later known as the Bedell Inn and Kensington Hotel (see Hotels). He was also an engineer, an inventor and a partner with Captain Wilson J. Terry in the menhaden fishing business. After Captain Bedell's death April 12, 1902 at age 73, his sister continued to live in the Homestead, taking in occasional borders, until her death about 1921. The house was then acquired by A. C. Edwards and his sisters. In August 1926, it was moved back to make room for the Edwards Building, built adjacent to the Post Office. The house now fronts on Center Street which had been opened in 1922.

 

 

Undertaker business, lower left next to P. O., 1890

 

Raynor's Block, P. O. & Edward's Building, 1930

 

 

 

I. G. Terry & W. N. Raynor Homes, about 1938

(Note monuments displayed in Raynor yard)

 

 

New A&P replaced Raynor home, May 7, 1942

 

Images: All from collection of George Spruce

 

#89, WOODHULL N. RAYNOR HOMESTEAD:   Charles L. Raynor (1830-1899) was born in Westhampton and, following his marriage about 1850, came to Sayville. Initially, he followed the water  engaged in menhaden fisheries and then he worked with his eldest son, Woodhull (1853-1928), in the butcher trade. In 1874, he embarked upon the undertaking business where he was later joined by his son. Their house was built in about 1875 and in 1888, they constructed the shingle and clapboard Raynor Block next door where their business was housed in the largest store, adjacent to their home. Woodhull was first associated with Captain Charles Floyd Terry selling lumber and building materials which was sold to Robert Nunn who, in 1902,  transferred it to E. Bailey and Sons. In December 1941, the Woodhull Raynor Estate sold the Homestead and surrounding property to the Concordia-Sayville Corporation for about $10,000; the house was razed immediately and an A & P Food Market replaced it.  (The Funeral business had moved down the street in 1931 and relocated again to West Sayville in 1970. )

 

 

 

Raynor's backyard also displayed available merchandise;
it was also the location of cutting and finishing rooms as well as stables, 1917

 

Image: Geo. W. Richardson, New York 1917

 

#103: I. G. TERRY HOMESTEAD:    Captain Wilson J. Terry was born in Sayville in 1812. As noted above, his family was living in what was to be known as the Bedell Homestead when his twins - Isaac G. and Morris J. - were born on December 15, 1843. Initially, the Captain pursued his career sailing in the coastal trade but at the same time he, in partnership with first John Howell and later John Wood, had also been establishing a general store on Main Street at Station Road (later known as Railroad Avenue). After retiring from the sea, he bought out Mr. Wood's interest and brought both of the sons in as partners. I. G. was also very active locally, participating on the School Board, as District Clerk and as Commissioner of Highways from 1879 to 1884. He was also an extensive owner of Sayville real estate. He died on September 7, 1933 at 90, the oldest resident of the Village. In September 1939, the I. G. Terry property - which had 61 foot frontage and apparently also included his brother's house -  was acquired by Ciro Cioffi of Bay Shore whose brother, Charles, was proprietor of the Sayville Fruit Market across the street.

 

 

 

Century Bicycle Run, westbound, passing homes of Morris J. and Isaac G. Terry, about 1897

 

Image: Courtesy Dowling College Library Special Collection

 

#107, MORRIS JAMES TERRY HOMESTEAD:  Born with his twin brother, Isaac G., December 15, 1843. He, too, joined his father in his retail business and became one of  the partners. Like his brother, he was very prominent in the community social, commercial and political life; for 30  years, he was a director of the Suffolk County Mutual Benefit Association and also served as assistant postmaster and postmaster, first secretary of the Hook & Ladder Company  and as a candidate  for County Treasurer. After a long illness, he died on January 12,1923. Following the Cioffi purchase in 1939 (see above) the Cioffi family moved in to the residence and built a two-store block in the front yard, one of which occupied by their fruit store from across the street and the other by Bialer's Sylvia Shop. Eventually, these were replaced by the Charlotte Shop and lastly by Rite-Aid drug.

 

 

 

 

#131, Modern Diner (on north side), 1933

 

 

 

Looking east, 1920s

 

Images: collection of Sayville Library

 

 

GREENE TO SAXTON AVENUES

 

 

 

West Main Street looking east, postmarked July 6, 1926

 

 

 

#171, Dr. F. C. Merritt Home, August 1915

 

 

 

#169,  Robinson Real Estate Office

(At Islip Grange)

 

Images: left, Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum; right, Webb N. Morrison (2013)

 

#171, DR. FREDERICK C. MERRITT HOMESTEAD:   Dr. Merritt was born in Waterford, Ontario July 4, 1888, son of a doctor, last of ten children. He came to Long Island about 1892 and went into a partnership in Sayville with Dr. George Robinson, also a Canadian. In 1921, he married Florence Roe of Patchogue. Upon his death on April 7th, 1925, Mrs. Roe chose to move back to Patchogue to live with her brother, Austin Roe. Thus, the Sayville property passed to Dr. Merritt's niece, LeVan Cowell Robinson, a trained nurse,  who was the first wife of Dr. Robinson's elder son, William, and her family moved into the Merritt house in June 1925. In April 1926, George and William Robinson established the "G. A. & W. B. Robinson Company" and erected a small cottage on the Greene Avenue corner of the property for their new business. In April 1935, this cottage was moved next door to face a newly constructed identical copy across the front walk to the Case residence. The Merritt House was demolished in December, 1968 and later was replaced by the Edwards & Company building.                             

 

 

#173, Tuthill-Case House (Robinson Homestead) at Islip Grange

 

Image: Webb N. Morrison (2013)

 

#173, TUTHILL-CASE HOUSE:   The house was built about 1850 for Captain Benjamin Tuthill. Albert B. Tuthill  (1853-1945), sold it to John E. Case in April 1907 for $3,400. Possibly as a result of the sale, in December 1907 Case, a builder, got the contract to build Tuthill a new house on Hampton Street. After Dr. Merritt's death (see above), LeVan Robinson and her family had moved into his home next door; in 1946, Lillian Robinson - wife of William's brother George - acquired the Case home. In 1975, she donated the house to the Islip Grange where it stands today.

 

 

 

#203, John Hughes Cottage, August 1915

 

 

 

#201, Bohack Corner, built 1925

 

Images: left from Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum;

 right, collection of George Spruce

 

#203, GREEN HOMESTEAD / JOHN HUGHES SUMMER COTTAGE:  Before his death in January 1893, Samuel H. Green had begun to develop property at the northern end of Green's Creek in West Sayville.  His son, I. H. Green, Jr., continued his plans and moved to his new home there in 1907, vacating the long-time Green Homestead on West Main Street opposite St. Lawrence Church; his father before him had occupied the homestead at least back to the early 1870s. The house was vacant for several years until the four-acre property was bought in March 1910 for $16,300 by John Hughes (1866-1919)  of Brooklyn and Freeport. Mr. Hughes was assistant to the President of U. S. Steel Company and was also a director of Atlantic Savings and Loan of Brooklyn. In the two years following his acquisition, he had the house substantially renovated, added servants quarters and (after it burned down) a new barn. In January 1925, he sold the property - 625 feet fronting Main Street from Greeley to Garfield Avenues, about  425 feet in depth - to H. C. Bohack for about $65,000; the Company immediately constructed a four-unit store block and opened its new branch on June 27. The Hughes cottage was moved back to now the corner of Bohack Court and Greeley Avenue. 

#251, ROHM MOTOR COMPANY:    Stenger & Rohm had started with a small machine shop on Railroad Avenue in April 1896. In January, 1907, they purchased the old Pearl House Hotel property and moved to Main Street (see Business: Main Street - South Side). In November 1916, they expanded their activities as a dealer for Ford cars (and later, trucks and tractors). In October 1926, Charles Rohm bought  the W. Clifford Green property, 175 by 175 feet, on the west corner of Garfield Avenue for about $50,000; he felt that the Company had outgrown its space and also believed that a garage did not belong the center of the village. Mr. Green was, at the time, partner of William H. Stryker, having a men's haberdashery at Main and Gillette; later, in 1940 he had a gas station. In October 1928, Stenger and Rohm sold their premises to Long Island Lighting Company. Thereafter, Mr. Stenger left the partnership and Mr. Rohm proceeded, building a 140 square foot brick fire-proof structure on his Garfield Avenue property; it had a 32 x 40 foot showroom on the west front, a 50 x 140 foot storage room, and a 40 x 80 foot room equipped with modern facilities for quick and easy service. The Rohm Motor Company opened in its ''elaborate" new quarters on February 2, 1929. In August 1930, William Kost, whose garage at the other end of town faced declining business because the construction of the North Main railroad bridge obstructed approach to his property, bought the Rohm Motor Company's new facilities, particularly for sale of his Chrysler products, at a cost of $65,000. Unfortunately, Kost went bankrupt in July 1932 and all of his properties were sold at auction. The Rohm garage was sold for $75 plus mortgage and interest charges to Charles Rose of Laurelton. In 1935, it was rented to John C. Hackett and Company who represented finance organizations for auto companies. In later years, it variously housed a, a frozen food business, a plastics company and a dry cleaner/laundry among others. The building was demolished in the 1980s.

 

 

 

 

   

 Return to Start of Page  

 

 

NORTH/NORTHWEST SAYVILLE

 

MACON AVENUE

 

 

 

 

 

Suffolk County News: April 18, 1919

 

 

 

 

72, Father Divine's "Heaven"

 

Image: Collection of Sayville Library

 

#72, PEACE MISSION:   Reverend Major Jealous Divine (born George Baker, Jr., c. 1876-1965), an African-American religious leader, bought this house in 1919, established his "Heaven" and brought his followers to Sayville.  Reportedly, it was a spiteful sale neighbor against neighbor and reportedly was the first sale in town to an African American. This remained Father Divine's headquarters until May 1932 when he moved to Harlem in New York City. (See Clubs and Organizations for a more detailed discussion. ). It was designated a Historic Landmark by the Town of Islip in 1979. The about one acre property, including #64 next door and several outbuildings, is still held by his organization, the Peace Mission Movement, and used occasionally by Mother Divine and others for special conferences or other activities. The Movement is now headquartered at the Palace Mission, Gladwyn PA.

 

LINCOLN AVENUE

SUNRISE VILLAGE: Built on 11 acres just below Sunrise Highway in 1985-1986, this was the first active-55-and-over condominium in Sayville.  It had 202 two-bedroom ranch-style houses, some with garage, offered at $83,900 to $135,000, but restricted to families with at least one member over the age of 55. The community also has security at the gate, a 6,000 square foot clubhouse, pool and library. In a major zoning move in July 1987, the Islip Town Board rezoned about 100 parcels along Sunrise Highway from the Oakdale to the Brookhaven Line from commercial and industrial to residential, citing Sunrise Village as one of two examples of successful housing.

 

 

 

Image: Newsday, February 24, 1985

 

 

RAILROAD AVENUE

 

 

 

 

 

 

Duryea Garage, 1914

(opposite Kensington Hotel)


 

 

#53, Wells House and Barn

 

 

 

 Dietz Real Estate & Insurance, 1908

 

Images: both left, Collection of Sayville Library;

both right, Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum

 

#53, JOHN WELLS:    The Wells families began their first transportation services in 1844, carrying mail and passengers to the Lakeland railroad station in 1844. The house and barn were demolished in 1954 to make room for the new Bohack Shopping Center. (See Sayville: Main Street to the Tracks for more details. )

#??: FREDERICK A. DIETZ:  Mr. Dietz had been the proprietor of Davis Livery in Bayport for about 18 years when he sold it to William Frieman of the Frieman Hotel in March 1907; Mr. Frieman expected to continue with the general stage business. Mr. Dietz, who also had an office in New York City, also opened a local real estate and insurance office and maintained it for some years.

 

 

 

#54, Elroy Building, built 1913

 

 

 

#70, Origina1st Congregational Church, built1848;

moved to R. R. Avenue 1888 as  Suffolk County News  Office

 

Images: left, collection of Sayville Library; right, Suffolk County News

 

 

 

LAKELAND AVENUE

 

 

 

 Groh Homestead, built about 1840

 

 

 

Groh's Place (or "The Place") faced on street; tavern also "hostel for travelling salesmen, drummers, etc. "

 

 

 

#125, Pausewang Home, built  Oct 1900

 

 

 

Pausewang Barn, built April 1900

 

Images: top row, collection of the Sayville Library; bottom by Webb Morrison (2013)

 

PAUL GROH HOMESTEAD:   Originally built about 1840 as a boarding house, it later became the Oakland House hotel and temporary railroad station and, about 1900, simply the Groh family homestead. "Groh's Place" or "The Place", later the North Pole, was promoted as a bar but also as "a working farm, hostel for travelling salesmen, drummers and agents for the Long Island Railroad" (see Hotels: Oakland House for more details).

#125, WILLIAM PAUSEWANG:  Leopold (1836-1906) and Clara (1837-1924) Pausewang, both born in Berlin, came to this Country in 1860 and to Sayville soon thereafter; he was a farmer. Son, William F. (1862-1928) married Anna Marie Kucherer (1867-1958); he was a bayman. In April 1900, they had the barn constructed. The following October, the house on the property was moved to the side and the one above was built; the pictures above show both just before they were demolished in 2013 to make room for new assisted-living facility. In 1905, Karl Pausewang (1890-1987) borrowed $35 from his mother to begin business with a bicycle shop on his grandfather's land; he later expanded it to a large machine shop and airfield (see Business North of the Tracks for more details).

 

GREENE AVENUE

 

 

 

St John's Parsonage & Church, early 1900s

 

Image from Suffolk County News

 

#48, St. John's Parsonage and Church:   Both the parsonage and the Church were built in 1898 and dedicated on August 14th. The Church (pictured above), destroyed by fire on July 19, 1955, was rebuilt and dedicated on August 27, 1957. In 1968, St. John's began to expand its property and a new vicarage was purchased. The parsonage was demolished  in the early 1960s to make room for the new Youth Hall. (See Churches for more detail).

 

GARFIELD AVENUE

 

 

 

Francis X. McCaffrey Home, August 1915

 

Image: Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum

 

#66, FRANCIS X. McCAFFREY:    This was the first house to be built on Garfield Avenue, sometime between 1888 and 1902 (1902 maps show it as the only house on the street). Frank McCaffrey (1865-1922), a noted Brooklyn lawyer and Assistant District Attorney of Kings County, bought the cottage from John Frears in July 1907 for his summer residence. His wife passed away in 1908. However, he continued to summer at the house until his sudden death in March 1922 after which his daughter Jane and her husband Charles E. Burke continued until they moved to their new home on Benson Avenue in the new Riviera Park in 1929. Jane McCaffrey Burke died in December 1929.

 

SAXTON AVENUE

 

 

 

Thomas N. Otto Home, August 1915

 

Image:  Suffolk County News, courtesy of L. I. Maritime Museum

 

#72, THOMAS N. OTTO:  The Ottos apparently bought property from Israel Green about 1914 and Louis N. Howe, a West Sayville builder and contractor, in early 1915 built them the first house on Saxton Avenue which had not been yet been formally recognized as a street. Thomas Otto (1873-1949) was the son of John and Cornelia Hage Otto, among the early Hollanders to come to West Sayville. For many years, he owned and operated a chain of meat markets and had lived in a house on Main Street where Prince of Peace School now stands. In 1922, he bought the "Brush Block" from Ida Gillette. At the time of his death, he also owned the T. N. Otto Coal and Oil Company which was located on Greeley Avenue, just north of the railroad tracks. One of his two daughters, Virginia Otto (Mrs. Jewett) Smith (1900-1974), was the publisher of the Sayville Citizen, Sayville's competing "Democratic" weekly newspaper, in print from 1919 to 1943.

 

 

TARIFF STREET

 


 

 

 Images from the Suffolk County News

 

YONDA DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, Tariff Street:  In 1915, the Patrick Mullen Farm stretched from the railroad tracks almost to Crosby Street, roughly between Cliff and Hillside. Anthony H. Yonda, at a much later date, acquired some (or all) of the farm. In February 1947, he announced that the former farm had been subdivided into 33 large acreage plots, the Yonda Development. He also opened two streets, Yonda Drive and Marcia Street. In 1957, probably after most building in the area had been completed, he gave a 1. 3 acre flag lot on the east side of Yonda Drive north of Tariff to the Town of Islip for Yonda Park. Three Yonda  brothers lived in Sayville Heights (see below).

 

TERRY ROAD

 

 

 

 

Images from The Suffolk County News

 

SAYVILLE HEIGHTS, west side of  Bohemia Parkway to Locust Avenue, Bourne Boulevard on the south: The development, built on a northeastern corner of the original Commodore Frederick Bourne estate (See Clubs & Other Orgs. - Sports, West Sayville Country Club), was begun in July 1928 by the Sayville Heights Realty Company, Alfred E, Frieman, President (See Business: To Bay) and G. A. & W. B. Robinson (see Business: Sayville - Main Street, North Side ) as developers. Its immediate attractions were promoted as adjacent to the new Island Hills Country Club and that "due to the foresight of Commodore Bourne, tree growth on this property has been conserved  and been unharmed by forest fires; the land is high, level and fertile". Some lots were as large as two acres, prices began at $450 an acre,  minimum street frontage was 200 feet and depths averaged 200 feet. The developers opened two residential streets, Smithtown Avenue and Terry Road. The Robinson Company was still selling lots in Sayville heights into the 1940s.

                                                                           

 

 

 

Newsday, May 15, 1954

 

 

 

Return to Start of Page

MAIN STREET, SOUTH  SIDE

 

 

FOR COMMENT ON NON-RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS PICTURED,

PLEASE SEE APPROPRIATE SECTION: BUSINESS, CHURCHES, HOTELS, ETC.

 

 

GILLETTE TO CANDEE AVENUES

 

 

 

Main Street, west from Gillette Avenue,
Postmarked August 5, 1946

 

#2,Thornhill's Drug, 2011

 

 

#6-10, Arata and  Mantha Buildings, August 1915

 

 

 

#2-10. Thornhill's, Arata and Mantha Buildings, 1936

 

 

 

#22, Wood Building and Opera House, early 1900s

 

 

 

#16-22, Wood Building, 2006

 

Images: all from collection of Sayville Library

 

#2-10,  WOGLOM HOUSE:   In 1911, House was moved to #8 Pine Street to make room for Thornhill, Arata and Mantha Buildings.  The Arata family lived above the store when it was built in 1913, the Oelschlagers lived above Beers when they had it, and Dr. Van Diense had a bachelor apartment upstairs in the Wood Building. For more details on the Woglom House, see Streets: Foster Avenue; for the others, see Business: Main Street. 

 

Return to Start of Page

 

CANDEE TO GREENE AVENUES

 

 

 

 

(At #20 Candee Avenue, behind Bank)
"Village Hall", 2014

 

 

 

 

#44-56, Oysterman's Bank & Aldrich Block;
Village Hall/Red Cross Building, far left, about 1960

 

 

#48-56, Aldrich Block, 1894

 

 

 

Main Street, looking east, 1971

 

 

 

#74, Charles N. Aldrich Home & Office, August 1915

 

 

 

Main Street looking east toward Aldrich Block

 

 

 

#96, Stenger & Rohm, August 1915

 

 

#96, ex-LILCO  & Pearl buildings, 1948

 

 

 

 #104, Pearl House, about 1900

 

 

 

#108, E. Bailey & Sons store in Pearl Building, 1908

 

 

 

#100-108, Pearl House, 1979

 

 

 

#136, Modern Diner & Dow Clock House, 1971

 

Images: top row  left, courtesy of George Spruce,  right, collection of Sayville Library; 2nd row, left and bottom row, right courtesy of Chris Bodkin; 2nd and 3rd row right, Suffolk County News, courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum;
3rd row, left, collection of Sayville Library; 4th row, left, courtesy of Jack Heinlein,  right, courtesy of Sayville Historical Society;
bottom row left, Town of Islip Archives, right, courtesy of Chris Bodkin

 

#44, VILLAGE HALL: The building far left behind the Bank was the Village Hall. It was built in the 1830s or 1840s on the shore of the Mill Pond as a carpenter shop. In 1852, it was moved Main Street and Washington Lane (now Candee Avenue) where the ground floor was used by a cigar maker and others while the upper floor was a dwelling. A few years later, it was purchased by the Rechabites, a temperance organization. Following them, Dr. Van Diense had his office on the ground floor and his living apartment upstairs before he moved to the new Wood Building across the street. In 1898, to make room for the new Oystermen's Bank, the building was moved about 150 feet down Candee Avenue.  There, it was again used as a dwelling but also, again, it housed Louis Kautsky's cigar factory. In February 1928, it was renovated by the Aldrich family to provide two stores with brick corners and piers and photo glass fronts downstairs facing the Opera House; upstairs continued as living quarters. Since, the two stores have had diverse occupants, including the local American Red Cross chapter from 1950 to 1971.

#74, CHARLES  N. ALDRICH  ( 1850 - 1927):  During his youth, Aldrich "followed the water", always being referred to as "Captain". In 1879, he came ashore and entered the coal and wood business. In 1887, Charles Hulse built the three-story Aldrich building for him in the center of town; later, in 1899, he was a founder and director of the Oystermen's Bank and the following year, he was instrumental in organizing and became an officer of the Sayville Electric Company. He always lived on the South Country Road (a. k. a Main Street). His first house, probably built by Charles Hulse at about the same time as he erected the Block, was moved to his property at #124 Handsome Avenue (q. v. ) on April 4, 1911 for rental. In September 1911, Oakley & Hiddink began construction of a new bungalow for him at the Main Street location. In 1913, he had I. H. Green, Jr. convert the new unit to the two-story home pictured above. It was later destroyed along with the west end of the Block by a fire on January 8, 1951.

#98-108, STENGER & ROHM / PEARL HOUSE: When their ten-year old machine and repair business on Railroad Avenue began to run out of space, Stenger & Rohm bought the Pearl House property on Main Street on January 31, 1907. The Pearl House, a popular year round boarding house, had been run by the Emory Skinner  (1854 - 1937) family for about 25 years. It was set well-back from the street, had 150 of frontage and a depth of 320 feet, affording S&R room to build a larger machine shop and garage for their auto repair and supply activities. The Pearl House itself was moved forward to the street line and remodeled to accommodate four retail stores on the ground level and two floors of apartments above, as it stands today. In October 1928, S&R decided to move again (and soon after broke-up) and sold the property to the Long Island Lighting Company. LILCO moved across the street in the early 1940s and in 1948, Joseph Heinlein opened his hardware store in the west end of the old Stenger and Rohm building. When Heinlein's closed in 1993, the building became part of Cricket's Restaurant.

#136, MODERN DINER: The Diner opened on March 8, 1930, adjacent to Batson's Corner. It moved across the street on February 15, 1935  and was replaced by a new "super-colossal" diner on March 23, 1949.

#136A, DOW CLOCK (1864 - 1931) HOUSE: The house was built before 1888 and very probably before 1873 when it would have been the property of Mrs. Caroline E.  Green. Dow Clock had a diversified career, proceeding from telegraph operator/station master for the railroad to being instrumental in as well as first cashier of the Oystermen's Bank; his main interests were the Bank and the schools and he was a member of the Board of Education for 40 years, 36 of them as President. After his death, his wife and three of his five children - Roscoe, Pearl and Evelyn - continued to occupy the house until about 1950. Thereafter, it was rented as residence or, later, for a business.

 

 

 

Looking east on Main, postmarked November 9, 1906

 

 

Looking west, Fire House, Jedlicka, Methodist Church
Postmarked February 6, 1909

 

 

#156, Fire House, 1920s

 

 

#160-162, Jedlicka Brothers, August 1915

Images: top row and bottom left, collection of Sayville Library; bottom right, Suffolk County News courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum

 

#160-162, JEDLICKA BROTHERS:  Joseph Jedlicka Sr. founded his business on South Main in 1866 and was later joined by his sons. In the spring of 1888, they moved to their new building, designed by I. H. Green, Jr. and providing much more space on the for their stock of stoves, ranges, tinware and plumbing supplies as well as living quarters  above for the family and others. The business closed down soon after the death of Arthur Jedlicka (grandson, 1901 - 1947). In September 1948, Frederick Tuck, Jr., Vice President and Counsel at Eastern Federal Savings and Loan, bought the building from Jacob Strasser, owner of the National  5 & 10 Cent Store. The building was demolished in October 1954 and replaced by Eastern Federal which opened in its new quarters at this location,  June 4, 1955.

 

GREEN TO BENSON AVENUE

 

 

 

Looking east on Main Street, 1920

 

 

 

#166, Methodist Church and Parsonage

 

 

 

#176-180, Philip N. Westerbeke Buildings, July 1979

 

 

 

#184-186 Kendall/St. Lawrence Building, July 1979

 

 

 

#200, St. Lawrence School, Auditorium and Church,
circa 1950

 

 

 

#220, St. Lawrence Rectory, August 1915

 

 

 

#238, Charles Halsey Hulse House, 1947

 

 

 

#272, Driveway to Main House, Frank S. Jones' Beechwold, prior to 1926 (later, Benson Avenue)

 

Images: top row left, collection of Sayville Library, right, courtesy of Tony Brinkmann;2nd row, Town of Islip Archives;
3rd row right, collection of Sayville Library, right Suffolk County News courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum;
bottom row left, courtesy of George Spruce, right,  Suffolk County News

#238, CHARLES HALSEY HULSE HOUSE (1834  - 1916 ):    An 1873 map indicates that the lot on the west corner of Main Street and Handsome Avenue owned by Samuel W. Green was vacant; however, the lot to the west was occupied by the residence of C. H. Hulse. An 1888 map indicates that the Hulse family had acquired that adjacent  lot to the east but leaves in question whether the Hulse  house above is the original, possibly moved a little to the newly acquired property, or a replacement. Hulse, born in Brookhaven, moved to Brooklyn where he developed an extensive business as one of the best known contractors in Greenpoint. For a number of years, he summered in Sayville and married a Sayville girl. In 1871, he moved here permanently, buying considerable real estate and laying out what is considered one of the most beautiful streets to the Bay,  Handsome Avenue. In 1888, he had the equivalent of ten lots on the west side of Handsome  and, additionally, his son-in-law, Thomas Overington, had built and was operating the four-story, 65 room Elmore Hotel  at its lower end. At the time, a main objective of his business was to build cottages, not necessarily to sell but  for summer rental. Most of his cottages  had 10 to 13 rooms,  two bathrooms and were set on more than half-acre lots. After Hulse' death, in June 1919, Mrs. Alice Theiss (1871 - 1939, daughter of the Smith J. Noe's and already a local property owner on Foster Avenue) bought the house and had it remodeled so that it faced Handsome Avenue. In October 1944, Judge James F. Willis acquired it from her son, Royal Theiss. In 1947, James Sempepos purchased the building from him and, with partner Peter Gregory, opened it as the Pine Grove Inn, primarily a restaurant "with a few rooms to rent". After changing hands, it closed in May 1955. It was replaced by a used-car dealer and also was proposed as a shopping center before it was purchased by St. Lawrence Church in  April 1958 as the site for a new church to replace old one destroyed by fire the preceding year. (Also see Business: Main Street and Streets: Foster Avenue. )

 #272, EDWARD R. WILBUR / FRANK S. JONES:  This was the main entrance to the Edward R. Wilbur and, later, the Frank S. Jones estates until September 1926.  (See 1902 at beginning of Streets: Southeast section). At that time, Frank S. Jones sold all of his land north of what is now Jones Drive (about 40 acres) to Ralph Green who immediately re-sold it to Russell J. Perrine for his new development, Riviera Park.  The driveway shown above then became Benson Avenue. (See Streets: Southwest)

Return to Start of Page

SOUTHEAST  SAYVILLE


In 1902, there was still a lot of open land in South Sayville.



 

 In 1786, three parcels of land were sold by the Nicoll Estate for about three dollars and acre to local buyers; John Edwards acquired the easternmost one from Brown's River to a line between present Candee and Greene Avenues (Southeast); Willett Green acquired the center from the Edwards line to Greene's Creek (Southwest); and John Greene purchased what is now West Sayville. About the same time, a highway was laid out through the wilds of the south shore of Long Island which was mostly all woodland. Patrons had to get their mail from Patchogue. In 1836, a mail stage began to run from Brooklyn to Sag Harbor, interesting the 18 to 20 local families in getting a name for their Village and a Post Office.  After the U. S. Post Office recognized (reportedly, incorrectly) the name Sayville, Main Street and Old Lane ( a/k/a/ Edwards Lane and now Gillette Avenue) became a stage stop.

 

FOSTER AVENUE
(
Formerly Gordon's Lane, a. k. a Seaman's Avenue, and then widened and renamed Foster Avenue 1868. The 1873 map still shows as Seaman's Avenue. )

 


 

Foster Avenue at Middle Road, undated

 

 

 

Foster Avenue, postmarked May 29, 1909

 

 

 

Foster Avenue, postmarked August 19, 1912

 

 

#8 Pine Street, Wilson J. Terry/Woglom/Hart House

 

 

 

#266, Delavan, early 1900s

 

 

 

#266, Delavan, early 1900s

 

 

 

After the fire, January 1933

 

 

 

After the fire, January 1933

 

 

 

#272 & 268, circa late 1930s

 

 

 

#268, circa late 1930s

 

Images: Top three, collection of Sayville Library;

All Delavan courtesy of Barrie Sargent

 

#8Pine Street, WOGLOM HOUSE:  In 1790, Jeremiah Terry, tax collector for TOI and later postmaster, built a home at the southeast corner of Main Street and Edwards Lane (now Gillette Avenue). In 1838, three partners - Walter and Daniel  Howell and Charles R. Smith - built a small building,  "the first building to be used for a mercantile purpose",  at the same location. Clarissa Edwards notes that, in 1841, Reuben Edwards built the first grocery store also at, again, the same location, but that "it was either torn down or moved away about the time  of the Civil War". In 1896, on reporting the death of Cecelia (Howell) Brush, the Suffolk County News noted that she and all of her Howell brothers and sisters were born in the Woglom House. The latter two buildings may be slight variations of the same one; they may have been added to the original Terry house or the original house may have been replaced by the late 1840s when John Woglom (1809 - 1881) and his wife, Lucretia, arrived in Sayville. Their land at Main Street and Old Lane, in both 1873 and 1888 maps show only one reasonably large building on his property; whether it is the same 1790 edifice or one of or a combination with the later structures is unknown. It became the first Sayville "Post Office" about 1840; patrons left their mail on the hall table for the Babylon to Patchogue postman who delivered and picked up mail daily; mail from the City or further arrived only weekly. Wilson J. Terry acquired the Howell business and, in 1852, built a new building for it on the north side of Main Street. Other families that lived in the house included the Bedells (late 1840s), the Wogloms, Homer F. Candee, and  the John E. Green family who were there from about 1887 until the 1911. That August, the land was sold to Sewell Thornhill and William Mantha for $10,000. The now known Woglom House, which obstructed their building plans, was  auctioned off and Mrs. Smith Noe (mother of Mrs. Alice Theiss), the winning bidder offering $606, moved it to a lot she owned at the corner of Pine and Foster; at that time, she owned both corners and it is not clear as to whether it was moved directly to her south lot (where it is now) or first placed on her north property and then in 1918,  the south. Later, building was sold to sold to Clarence Vanderbilt. In June 1940, John J. Hart, who had a large Ford Agency in Brooklyn, purchased the former Vanderbilt property from the Daniel D. White estate and had the house remodeled and restored.  In January 1943 it was badly damaged by fire. The Harts had it repaired and resumed residence. The property remained with the Hart family until about 1980 when it was acquired by Paul and Donna Grady. In 1995, they sold it to the present occupants.

#268 & #272:   The original Delavan Hotel (at "266")  was built by Andrew Foster in 1883 (See Business: South Main Street and also Hotels) and sold to Clarence M. Rogers in 1919. In 1926, the Rogers family built two cottages on the south end of the property as annexes to the Main Building.  After that was destroyed by fire on New Year's, January 1, 1933, the two cottages became the Hotel, at least until the 1960s, as well as the home of the Rogers Family. #272 was sold in the 1970s to become a personal residence. Charles M. Rogers, M. D., lived at 268 until his death in October 2007.

 

 

 

#271, Gertrude Griffith House, 1950

 

 

 

#302, Greycote, Andrew Foster Home,
August 1895: Foster Family on Porch

 

 

 

#318, William F. Moore Home, August 1915

 

 

 

#318, William F. Moore  lawn, NW Corner at Elm St, Postmarked August 12, 1921

 

 

 

Rose Bathing & Dancing Pavilion,
Foot of Foster, 1915 (east side)

 

 

 

#400, Tidewater Inn, foot of Foster (west side),
Circa 1918

 

Images: All collection of Sayville Library except third row right, Suffolk County News, courtesy of LIMM

 

#271, GERTRUDE GRIFFITH (1888 - 1960):   House was one of two 8-room cottages built on corner of Terry Street in spring of 1927 by Amos Munsell for Harry Goodman. In 1930, owned by Frank Rogers, President of the Community Trust Company, and rented. In August 1940, Griffith bought house  from Oystermen's Bank (successor to Community Trust). Apparently, her first intention was to make it a home for foster children. In 1945, she changed and rented it out for several years. Then, in 1949, she established a home for the elderly which continued until her death.

#302, ANDREW D. FOSTER (1826 - 1907), Greycote:   Born in Sweden (last name Forsslund).  Foster immigrated to the United States in1849, went to mine gold in California, came to New York in 1853;  later in that year he arrived in Sayville, boarded with Mrs. Mary Green and, on October 16,  married her granddaughter, Ann Eliza Brown. Sometime thereafter, he purchased 18 acres  of the Nathan Gordon Farm (originally part of  John Edwards farm), was instrumental in getting Foster Avenue opened as a street, and in 1858 built his home, Greycote, there. (See Business: South Main Street and Hotels for his business and hotel activities). The Fosters had eight children, five daughters and three sons. One was Louise Forsslund (1873-1910), an author, who re-introduced the original family name. After her death, her mother, Ann Eliza (1834 - 1918) and three remaining sisters - Minnie (1866 - 1934), a noted gardener; Amelia (Robinson) 1857 - 1942); and Amy (1879 - 1949), a noted actress - continued to occupy the premises until March 1941, during which time Amy had operated several businesses on site, one for sales of ladies dresses and accessories (1925) and another,  Greycote tea room (1931). In 1941, she sold the property to Patrick Rattigan, an Irish immigrant and General Contractor from St. Albans, NY, and moved to 291 Main Street. In November 1946, he resold it to the P. Nielsen family for $15,000. In 1968, it was acquired by James Radigan, founder of Dutch Door Realty; in 1999, the property passed to other members of the same family.

#318, WILLIAM HAZARD TERRY (1814-1904) / WILLIAM FRANCES MOORE ( 1858 -1930): Terry, born in New Hampshire, spent most of his early life in New York. About 1885, he and his wife began summering in Sayville and liked it very much. He had scholarly tastes,  an extensive library  and was also a great patron of the stage and much interest in the operation of the local opera house. In July 1893, he purchased from James Edwards property on the north side of Elm Street stretching from Colton to Foster Avenues and built a large and substantial residence. After his death in December 1904, the home remained empty until April 1909 when it was acquired by William Frances Moore, President of the New Amsterdam Casualty Company, who had a handsome home in Brooklyn but intended to use  this as a summer residence; the Moore family had summered in Sayville for more than 20 years. Upon his demise the property was taken over by his son, Robert Frances Moore, a drama critic for The Billboard, and his sister, Agnes D. Moore. In July 1944, August Kappel, a local developer, obtained the four and one-half acre Moore property and in December 1945, following cutting up and/or demolition of parts of the Moore home (one section is now a residence at the corner of Colton Avenue and Elm Street), opened Poplar Street and erected six new homes on the land. In March 1945, Kappel also bought about eight acres of the meadowlands across the street, stretching from the corner of Foster and Terry toward the river, on which he planned to build another five homes.

#400, L. R. McGRAW / TIDEWATER INN: This six-acre property with cottage was owned in 1898 by Mrs. Lida R. McGraw who had a hotel/boarding house in East Orange, NJ. In 1900, she had at least two possible buyers who each offered about $15,000 for the property but she declined, even though she no longer regularly came to Sayville. The house was rented each summer until August 1906 when she sold the place to Paul Groh and William Bason for $15,750; in September, most of the house furnishings were auctioned and the house was demolished. About the same time, people in the Village were looking for a Park and by February 1907, Ye Village Club,  meeting in their rooms in the Wood Building, decided to approach the three landowners possibly offering bay front land: Ralph Green, having leased to the Sayville Golf Club at the foot of Candee Avenue, declined; I. C. Skinner with less than 300 feet of shorefront east of Foster avenue, was agreeable at $11,000; Groh and Bason, with about 400 foot frontage, agreed to sell for $20,000 but only if it was an immediate sale.  Builders and other local residents strongly favored Groh and Bason; apparently the Town Board (which in 1989 acquired the same property at a much higher cost) did not. In January 1916, I. H. Green completed plans for new "cafe and restaurant" at the foot of Foster Avenue "to have a porch 14 feet wide and 75 feet long enclosed in glass" and "on the second floor will be parlors and private sitting rooms" as well as "15 guest chambers, with bath rooms and all modern conveniences". The Tidewater Inn, after sending out 500 invitations, opened for business on June 29, 1916; accommodations were available for guests to arrive by boat. The Inn later became the second Shoreham, the first having burned down. (Please see Sayville: Business, Main Street to the Bay).

 

Return to Start of Page

 

BROWNS RIVER ROAD

 

 

image028

 

#32, Lewis Blue Point Oyster Cultivation Company,
1915

 

 

 

#42, Sayville Yacht Club, 1923
(Northam Warren home far right)

 

 

 

#40-42, Glen Willows, about 1980

 

 

 

 

 #40-42,Sunset Bay, 2014

 

 

 

#70, Northam Warren Estate, left, undated

 

 

image026

 

#70, Northam Warren Home, 1930

 

Images: collection of Sayville Library

#40-42, SAYVILLE YACHT CLUB:    Built in 1909 as the home of the South Bay Yacht Club at the end of Cedar Avenue, Patchogue,  this building was abandoned by that Club in 1918. On May 26, 1921, loaded on three scows towed by two oyster boats, it was floated over to its new home in two hours to become home of the new Sayville (formerly South Side) Yacht Club. The structure was 48x56 feet, had a large assembly room with a big fireplace and dressing rooms on the ground floor; a dance hall and board meeting rooms on the second; and wide porches with good views of the Bay around both levels. In November 1930, the Club having financial problems, the building was acquired by former Islip Town Supervisor Frank Rogers who offered it for "rent or sale" over several years. By the early 1940s, the main building had been converted into five apartments and the property also included two five room bungalows on the east side; it was offered for sale in 1947 as "one of the finest hotel sites on Long Island" for $35,000, $18,000 down. In the early 1950s, Carl Stoye, a new architect in Town, redesigned the building and in 1956, it was purchased by John L. Glennon (1899 - 1980), then a current resident and retired secretary-treasurer of  Barr Shipping, an import-export firm. He resold it in 1971. The two bungalows were also spun-off along the way. In April 1984, the property was incorporated as 42 Brown's River Road Owners, Inc. In August 1985, the then present owner, Frederick Stahman of Holbrook, sold the property to the resident owners. The complex is now informally known as Sunset Bay. It has 12 apartments, four in #40 and eight in #42, the original building. A pool which it had for many years was removed in 2009

#70, NORTHAM WARREN (1878-1962), Lands End:   Warren, a Connecticut pharmacist developed the first cuticle remover, Cutex, in 1911 and introduced it along with the first liquid nail polish in 1916. In 1928, Cutex acquired Odo-ro-no, the Country's first deodorant producer. Mid-summer 1922, Warren had acquired property at the mouth of Brown's River and, in August, began demolishing the Skinner & Herring Oyster House where he planned to build a 17 x 40 foot combination garage and boat house; the site had been designated as a possible public dock but he paid to have the (Brown's River) Road and dock re-located slightly to the north. Construction of the house was begun in October and completed in the spring of 1923. He was a popular summer resident and an avid yachtsman with his P-class sloop, Constance. He summered here until 1937 when he sold the property to Mrs. Emma Gelshenen of Bellport and moved to a new residence in Garden City. (For further details on Lands End, please see Business: Sayville - Main Street to the Bay). In 1960, his Company, by then marketing in 32 countries, was acquired as a division of Cheseborough-Ponds.

 

COLTON AVENUE

 

 

 

#60, Peter Lauckhardt Home, August 1915

 

Image from Suffolk County News, courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum

 

#60, PETER LAUCKHARDT (1857-1933) :   In the late 1890s, James P. Colton, a theatrical manager, and his wife, an actress, bought land from the Edwards family for a summer residence and had a house built, possibly by William Bason. At this time, "Colton Avenue" may have simply been a farm road on the Edwards farm which was later named after one of its earlier settlers. About 1900, the property was acquired by the Lauckhardts who had been summering in Sayville for several years, in 1898 at the Delavan and 1899 at the Fisher cottage on Handsome Avenue. Peter Lauckhardt, a Brooklyn architect and interior decorator, reportedly "built up a wide clientele among people of wealth and had completely furnished many handsome homes". In May 1927, he decided to makes Sayville his permanent residence, sold the Colton Avenue house to DePuyster G. Pitcher (1878-1960) and moved to 232 Greene Avenue. Mr. Pitcher, who had just moved from Brooklyn to Sayville, was owner of Alexander & Ellis, retail and wholesale lumber merchants, from which he retired in 1953.

 

EDWARDS STREET

 

 

 

Edwards Homestead, about 1915

 

Postcard from collection of the Sayville Library, undated

 

#30, EDWARDS HOMESTEAD: Home of Sayville Historical Society. The house was built about 1785 by Matthew Edwards and remained in the Edwards family until 1948.   Clarissa Edwards, who died in April 1946, had bequeathed it to the Sayville Historical Society. It was not the first house built locally, but is regarded as the oldest existing today.  (Please see Clubs - Museums for more details. )

 

ELM STREET
(between Edwards and Colton)

#125 - #129:
Three one-and-one-half story houses on the north side were built for Oystermen's Bank by Oakhaven Homes of East Islip. First construction began in December 1936 and houses were to be sold for $5000 under the terms of the Federal Housing Act. (No photo).

 

EDWARDS AVENUE

 

 

 

221, Ralph E. Krafft House, 1951

 

 

 

#221, Enlarged Carriage House, 1951

 

Images: Courtesy of Arthur Nixon

 

#221, RALPH E. KRAFFT (1850 - 1942):  In 1888, this property and house were owned by George  I. Herbert. The Krafft family began summering in Sayville in 1894 and acquired it. Ralph Krafft, born in Germany, was brought to the United States in 1855; he lived in Brooklyn and was a money exchange broker. In 1952, he sold the property to the present family occupants.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bon Ami: Charles E. Keater Home, August 1915 & Louis Bonert Home, undated

 

Images: left, Suffolk County News, courtesy of LIMM; right, courtesy of George Spruce

 

EVERSLEY CHILDS HOUSES,  #225  Edwards & #140 Elm Street, :    In August 1894, Childs (1867-1953)  purchased five acres on the Bay from H. F. Brown and Charles Gillette for $0,000 and commissioned I. H. Green to design two houses, the one closest to Edwards Avenue for himself and next door to the east, a second one for his father, William H. H. Childs (1840-1898). The first home was  completed in May 1995, the other soon after. The property was called Bon Ami. Childs, Sr. had organized the Mica Roofing Company  and Bon Ami Company (cleaners and cleansers); at the time of his death, he headed both. Childs, Jr. was founder and CEO of Bon Ami and President of Mica when it was absorbed by Barrett in 1921, later absorbed by Allied Chemical. In December 1902, the Eversley Childs family moved to Setauket. In June 1906, the Childs house was finally sold to John T. Granger, a New York financier and former Bayport summer resident, who had been negotiating for a long time to acquire it. However, following the sudden death of their son, in March 1909 the Grangers sold to Charles E. Keator, President of the Dunlop Hat Company. About 1930, Keator sold to Albert A. Troescher, Treasurer of Brunswick-Balke-Collender; it remained in the family until his wife's death at which time it passed to Samuel Phelps, a member of her household. Eventually, it was sold to Robert Logomasini who lived there until about 1980. In December 1904, Louis C. Bonert (1841-1916), a well-known Park Slope builder and contractor, bought the eastern half of Bon Ami and that house remained in his family until the death of his daughter, Lucille Hippell, in 1956. In 1957, the house was acquired by John Shortell who resold it again about 1972 for possible conversion of the property to condos. About 1980, the house burned to the ground and eventually the land was condemned by TOI and became part of Sayville Marina Park.

 

Return to Start of Page

 

GILLETTE AVENUE
(Originally known as Old Lane, then Edwards Avenue)

 

 

 

#47, Charles Z. Gillette, August 1915

 

 

 

#70, Martin T. Manton, August 1915

 

 

 

 

 

 

#111, David Edwards House, 1979 & 2014

 

 

 

 Gillette Avenue, looking north from Edwards Street, undated

 

Images: top row, Suffolk County News, courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum;

middle row, left, Town of Islip Archives; right and bottom, collection of  Sayville Library

 

#47, CHARLES ZEBULON GILLETTE (1827 - 1906):  Built by Captain Gillette for his wife, Phoebe Edwards, about 1862. Long-time home of daughter Ida Gillette, who left the property to charity upon her death in  August 1936. Acquired by TOI as a public park in 1944.  For more details, please see Public Buildings: Gillette House and Park.

#70, BEDELL HOUSE/MARTIN T. MANTON (1880 - 1946):  The house was apparently built by George F. Raynor who owned the property in or earlier than 1873. About that time it was taken over by Treadwell C. Bedell (1831-1892) and his wife, Mary Ellen, who was Raynor's daughter; they ran it as the Bedell (boarding) House.  Both had past experience operating the Bedell (later Kensington) Hotel on Main Street, originally run by father William Bedell. The Gillette Avenue establishment had 16 sleeping rooms, a stable, one-and-a half acres of shaded grounds, could provide dogs and decoys during hunting season, and Mr. Bedell had a yacht, the Joseph Hart, which was available for hire. After her husband's death, Mary Bedell continued the operation until about 1909. In January 1910, Martin T. Manton, a lawyer from Brooklyn acquired the property and "thoroughly remodeled it inside", removing partitions and adding new wood floors, new stairs, a bathroom, etc. . In April 1916, Ida Gillette purchased the land and put the buildings up for sale to clear the property (for the future Gillette/Rotary Park). It was sold to C. D. Rose and moved to the Daniel Mallison property nearby at 48 Candee Avenue. There, it was occupied in October by Dr. G. K. Oxholm and there it still remains. Manton, who became senior judge of the United States Circuit Court of Appeals,  was in 1939 sentenced to two years in  Federal Prison, fined $10,000 for "selling justice" and his Bay front estate in Bayport was sold for taxes.

#111, DAVID M. EDWARDS (1836  - 1911):   The house was built 1811-1814, probably by Reuben Edwards (1788-1863) who was a son of Matthew and grandson of John, the original owner of the Edwards Homestead just around the corner (see above). It is a typical (for the time), simple and functional two-story wooden frame structure with a pitched roof and classic stairway going up from the small parlor. When David Edwards (son of James, grandson of John) returned from the Civil War, he bought and remodeled his uncle's house. After his death, his wife, Sarietta, and daughter, Grace, continued in residence for some years until the mid-1920s when it was rented for several years to Martin I. Miller family. About 1950, his daughter, the Reverend Grace Edwards Kellogg, who had moved to Connecticut, sold the property to Paul Hitzigrath. Later tenants were  the Browns and the Lentzes. The present occupants acquired the property in 1971. In 1975, under new TOI regulations, it was the first officially designated Landmark home in the Town, even though - over the years - it had been extensively renovated. Nevertheless, probably the most significant alteration has been the addition of a new two-story wing in 1983 which contains a spacious bedroom and a large screen porch.

 

Return to Start of Page

 

CANDEE AVENUE
(Originally Washington Street, laid out in 1851, extended through Henry Green's farm to Bay in 1873; named for Homer F. Candee, private tutor and then principal of Sayville's second public school. For more Candee Avenue pictures, please see Hotels & Boarding Houses. )

 

 

 

 

Candee Avenue Trolley to Station, Summer 1909

 

 

 

 

#138, William H. Mayer, August 1915

 

 

 

 

 

#175, E. F. Christoffel, August 1915

 

 

 

 

 

#183, Thomas James Clark, August 1915

 

 

 

 

#233, Charles N. Kreiser, August 1915

 

 

 

#249, W. A. Slocum, August 1915

 

 

 

#311, Lewis H. Rogers, August 1915

 

 

 

#325, George E. Gould House, 2014

 

Images: Top row left & bottom right,  collection of Sayville Library

All others: Suffolk County News, courtesy of  Long Island Maritime Museum

 

CANDEE AVENUE TROLLEY:  Seasonal trolley, first drawn by horses, later propelled by electric batteries. Connected railroad station with several hotels on Candee Ave. Initial run July 4, 1909; last run 1919 (See Public Transportation for more details)

#138, WILLIAM H MAYER (1855-1930):  The house was designed by architect I. H. Green for Henry Treadwell Rogers (1847 - ?) in the early 1880s. In March 1888, Rogers partnered with Edgar Green in purchasing the Grand Central Store from Charles Gillette (see Business: North and South Main Street & Middle Road); in February 1900, Rogers left for another opportunity in New York City. Around 1912-13, after his wife had died, he sold the house to Mayer and moved to Denver. Mayer, head of the textile firm William Mayer & Sons, manufacturers of embossed and brocaded silks, used it as his summer residence for several years before selling it to Frederick A. Dietz, local real estate agent, about 1917. Dietz lived there before passing it on to Mary E. Williams in April 1920. In 1922, it was purchased by Dr. C. H. LaBorne, a prominent Brooklyn Dentist. In 1938, he no longer summered here but rented the cottage; he died that year. In the 1950s, the Jesse Vanderborghs occupied the premises. Joseph Gallagher purchased the property about 1963 and lived there until his death in 1997.

#175, EMILE  F. CHRISTOFFEL(1862-1927): The house may have been built for Herman C. Strobel (1851-1913) whose family occupied it in the 1890s. He was a German immigrant, brought to this Country in 1860, who had a furniture factory in New York City. In1900, he made his Sayville property (150 by 350 feet) and house available for summer rentals at $600 and in 1904 also offered it for sale with furniture for $9,500. In September 1908, Christoffel, who had been renting the C. A. Brown house next door to the north for previous summers, bought it. He was a manufacturer of boiler pipe cleaners and, as an officer in the old 47th Regiment, heavily involved in Veterans' affairs. In June 1924, Frederick Skelton (1883-1955) of Elmhurst bought and remodeled the house. He was a manufacturer's agent for many glassware concerns before establishing his firm in 1946; however, he was in poor health and retired in 1952.  He was noted as one of the foremost authorities on glassware manufacture. In 1972, his wife, Louise, sold the house and moved to western Massachusetts.

#183, THOMAS J. CLARK (1846-1928):   A  John H. Hawkins bought land on Candee Avenue in 1898 and had I. H. Green complete the plans for a house which Ashby & Breckenridge completed in 1899 but whether or not the Hawkins family ever lived there is questionable. A John H. Hawkins already had a summer place on Bayport Avenue which it appears was bought from Mrs. Ann Weeks in November 1899. If one assumes that the Bayport Hawkins built the Sayville house primarily for rental (as many people did in those days), that John H. Hawkins (1850-1926) was son of Captain Isaac Hawkins and secretary of the National Biscuit Company. About 1909, Thomas J. Clark (1846-1928) acquired the house. He was connected with the McKee Refrigerator Company in Brooklyn for 43 years, retiring in 1923 (and buried in St. Ann's cemetery). McKee also produced many range "shaker sets" for sugar, flour, etc. for various range manufacturers from the 1920s through the early 1950s. . After his death, his son, Edward Burcham Clark,  sold it to Guy A. Anderson (1893-1956) in 1933; Anderson represented many of the large textile manufacturers in the New York area. The present occupants purchased #183 from the Anderson Estate in 1960.

#233, CHARLES N. KREISER (1869-1939):   The house may have been built prior to 1888 when Brown & Gillette owned that property with an existing house. In 1891, Dr. Samuel Wait, a Brooklyn dentist, brought his family to summer in Sayville, staying at the Seaside. In 1894, he bought the Green cottage that adjoined Seaside Hotel and Cottage to the north. In 1902, Wait made some substantial improvements and summered there until his sudden death in Washington D. C. in October 1908. In December 1913, Mrs. Wait sold the house to Charles N. Kreiser, a representative for toy manufacturers from Amityville. In 1926, he sold the house to Charles Adrian, partner in a Manhattan real estate business. It appears that Adrian may not have lived there but rented it. Eventually, it was sold to Mrs. Shirland Quin;  who was associated with the Sayville Summer Playhouse  (1941-1947) in June 1946; she resold it to Robert E. Dowsley of Belle harbor in1949. In June 1953, Charles E. Hunt, an insurance man and also a school teacher, acquired the property.

#249, WILLIAM A. SLOCUM (1850-1931):  This property, like #233 above, also adjoined the Seaside House (on the south side); in 1888 it was owned by Brown & Gillette and had an existing house. By 1902, it had been acquired by Noah F Mason, a former coastal pilot who, apparently just before his death in 1913, sold it William A. Slocum of Brooklyn;  Slocum had it remodeled and called it "Sayvilla". His wife passed away in 1916 but Slocum remained in the house until May 1924 when his daughter, Mrs. Austin, sold it to Harold Monroe Butler (1893 - 1941), manager and director of George Allison & Co., produce commission merchants, in New York. Mrs. Butler sold the house about 1944.

#311, LEWIS H.  ROGERS (1845-1922): The Frank Hawkins family had owned this property with a house on it since 1888; the Rogers family rented it for the summers of 1909 and 1910 and bought it in June 1911. Rogers entered the hat trade in 1860, for 60 years was affiliated with  Martin Bates Jr. & Company and, after it went out of business in 1917, became president of O. deComeau, one of the oldest dealers in hatters furs and skins. Before his sudden death while on vacation in Cooperstown, NY, he had sold the Candee Avenue house to Dr. S. H. Lutz in June 1919. Unfortunately, Dr. Lutz, prominent Brooklyn eye, ear, nose and throat specialist who had been summering here for three years, also died suddenly that following  October. Mrs. Lutz retained the cottage through 1921. At some point thereafter it was acquired by Francis Hoag who sold it to Dr. LeGrand Kerr in September 1927. Dr. Kerr (1871-1956), who had been summering since 1920 in a house on Ocean Avenue, Bayport and who had just been elected to the Presidency of the Sayville Golf Cub across the street, planned extensive alterations  to both house and grounds (which had a frontage of 50 feet and extended back 400 feet to Edwards Avenue). He had graduated from Bellevue Hospital Medical College in 1892 and began specializing in children's diseases in 1907. Until his retirement in 1947, Dr. Kerr was the pediatric consultant for many local hospitals, both on the Island and in the City. Thereafter, he made Sayville his permanent home.

#325, GEORGE J. GOULD (1864 -1923):  In 1888 and possibly before, B. B. Schneider of Orange, NJ had a summer estate fronting on Candee Avenue behind the South Bay House and also fronting for 70 feet on the Bay east of the Hotel. In 1893, the Hayward Brothers and others, incorporated the first Sayville Country Club and acquired the Schneider property, intending to use the existing 12-room Queen Anne cottage as a Club House; there was also a stable and carriage house on the land. Unfortunately, the Club had financial problems and on April 13, 1895 the property was sold at public auction to Max Krueger, a New York restaurant owner who intended to open a boarding house but soon changed his mind and re-auctioned it to James Cashmere of Brooklyn. Apparently, George Gould, son of financier Jay Gould,  acquired the property about 1897; it was one of many that he had around the Country, among them his New York residence at Hotel Marie Antoinette and his primary home at Lakewood, NJ. He was an avid sportsmen and yachtsman. The house was occasionally rented out and in April 1926 the property was sold to Louis V. Walter of New York for $25,000. In September 1946, Walter sold the property to Nathan Newman (1890 - 1963), president of a New York jewelry firm and philanthropist; he was particularly active  with disabled servicemen and veterans. The Zinn family acquired the property in the 1950s followed by Peter T. Kavacos in the late 1970s and the Kenneth F. Rotunnos from the early 1990s who sold it to the present occupants about 2008.

#333, CANDEE AVENUE APARTMENTS:  Built in 1959 on what had been the location of the South Bay House and part of the old Gould Estate facing Candee Avenue, there are about 60 apartments, divided between two buildings. Over the early years, for various reasons, they appeared to deteriorate rapidly. In December 1970, they were acquired by Home Properties, an REIT company headquartered in Rochester, NY and operated under the name of South Bay Manor. In August 2013, Fairfield Properties purchased the complex, renamed it Fairfield Waterside and offers studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments with annual leases.

 

 

 

 

Suffolk County News, July 3, 1936

 

 

#194, CANDEE AVENUE and beyond south, west side:  In the mid-1880s, John Treadwell Green moved his pavilion at the Bay from the east to the west side of the street to make room for the South Bay House. In 1903 this pavilion became the Shoreham restaurant (see Business: Main Street to the Bay and also Clubs; Sayville Golf/Country). All of the land to the north belonged to the Green family and in that same year, the Greens leased 30 acres to the Sayville Golf (later Country) Club for a nine-hole golf course. After some good, some bad years, in 1935, the Club was having financial problems (among other things, Island Hills, a longer course, was getting stronger); therefore, in November,  the land north of Elm Street (the first eight holes) was sold to   Fenton R. Brydle, a wealthy investor who (d/b/a Fentoby Realty) was also President and Chairman of the Tile Roofing Company in Connecticut until his resignation in 1936.  Brydle's  "hobby" was building houses and within the next three years, he had cut through streets and built ten homes in his new Country Club Estates. There were 79 building plots in the tract, ranging from 84 foot frontage to one-quarter of an acre; homes were said to be "modestly priced from $8,500  because land was purchased when depression had knocked the bottom out of prices"; in May 1939, the Company noted that a large one had been sold for $10,000 but others were being priced between $6,000 and $6,500. Later, a few houses were also constructed south of Elm but, for the most part, it remained open.  (See Business: Main Street to the Bay and Public Buildings for more information)

 

 

 

 

Candee Avenue Park, divided from Greene Avenue
by ex-Greene Canal Boat Basin, 2014

 

 

 

Greene's Canal, bathhouse and boat yard to left
Greene Avenue to right, about 1900

 

 

 .

Return to Start of Page

 

SOUTHWEST  SAYVILLE

 

 

In 1786, three parcels of land were sold by the Nicoll Estate for about three dollars and acre to local buyers; John Edwards acquired the easternmost one from Brown's River to a line between present Candee and Greene Avenues (Southeast); Willett Green acquired the center from the Edwards line to Greene's Creek (Southwest); and John Greene purchased what is now West Sayville.  

 

 

GREENE AVENUE
(lower Greene originally called Stumpy Road)

 

 

 

Greene Avenue at Bay (behind Cedarshore), 1931: center top, Joy Farm house & gardens at Bay side; mid-right & left center, two halves of Anchorage; left top, other Kupfer cottages

 

Photo from collection of Webb N. Morrison

 

 

 

 

Greene Avenue, postmarked Sept 20, 1906

 

 

 

Hayward houses from roof of Cedarshore Hotel,
Circa 1926

 

 

 

#486, Anchorage, postmarked  July 23, 1915

 

 

 

 #486, Anchorage, August 1915

 

Images: top left, collection of Sayville Library; right, collection of Webb N. Morrison;

bottom left, collection of Sayville Library; right, Suffolk County News, courtesy of LIMM

 

 

 

 

Suffolk County News: September  19, 1924

 

 

 

Suffolk County News: January 2, 1925

 

 

#486, WILLIAM T. HAYWARD (1857 - 1921),  Anchorage:   The Haywards were Brooklyn friends of the Powells (see Handsome Avenue) and in 1891 summered at the Nunn cottage at 121 Handsome Avenue. In November 1892,  John M. Hayward, father of both William and Frank, bought the half of the Powell property facing Greene Avenue and stretching from Elm Street to the Bay, about six acres. There, son William built his summer home, the Anchorage. At about the same time, he became head of his father-in-law's spring window shade business (John C. Wemple &  Co. ) with factories in Brooklyn and Chicago. Unfortunately, the company declared bankruptcy in 1915 and Hayward retired. In 1920, he sold his estate to Emil Kupfer for $40,000. Kupfer split the Anchorage into two cottages which can be seen in Cedarshore photo above (#486 at right still stands, one at left has been demolished); he also added at least nine other bungalows, four on Elm Street and five on Greene Avenue, and a communal garage. The cottages, although their exteriors may vary slightly, have the same layout: living and dining rooms, kitchen, bath, and three bedrooms with cellar and attic. All are  still there, some having been enlarged with the addition of a second floor.

 

 

 

#479, Joy Farm, postmarked March 24, 1914

 

 

 

#479, Joy Farm, undated

 

Postcards from collection of Sayville Library

 

 

 

Suffolk County News, October 9, 1953

 

 

 

Suffolk County News, October 1, 1954

 

 

Suffolk County News, April 30, 1954

 

 

#473,  FRANK EARL HAYWARD (1870  - 1923), Joy Farm:    About 1901, stockbroker Frank Hayward bought land on the east side of Green Avenue comparable to that of his brother, stretching from Elm Street to the Bay, from former Sayville resident Captain Henry E. Asmus, who had moved on to ranching in Colorado. Following his marriage in 1905, Hayward built his own residence, Joy Farm. In 1920, facing losses from the Wemple Company, he sold  his property to Gustav Adolph Helm (1861 - 1926), head of the furniture department of Frederick Loeser department stores and noted philanthropist, who retained the name Joy Farm. After Mrs. Helm's death in 1948, the land was acquired by Frederick Lang and Peter Steenland, a local builder. In September 1953, the contents of the house were auctioned, the house was demolished, new streets were cut through and Langcroft, a "park-like community of ranch and split-level homes priced at $18,000 and up" was born; the purchase had included Greene's Canal, providing docking facilities for 25 boats.

 

Return to Start of Page

 

HANDSOME AVENUE
(laid out in 1873, recorded as "Hansom" in 1889)

 

 

#43, Captain Charles F Terry, 2014

 

 

 

#49, A. A. Dahn, August 1915

 

 

 

#110, Cornelius Beebe House, 2014

  

 

 

#124, Aldrich House, 2014

 

 

 

#132, Charles R. Hulse, August 1915

 

 

 

#144, 132, 128  - The Hulse Houses, undated

 

 

#154, Samuel Trimmer, August 1915

 

 

 

#174, R. G. Smith, postmarked August 25,1915

 

 

#174, General R. G. Smith, August 1915

 

 

#174, R. G. Smith, (left: Golden Eagle,  donated for Sparrow Park Monument, October 12, 1919), postmarked Aug 25, 1915

 

Images: All "August 1915", Suffolk County News, courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum;

Otherwise; top row left & 3rd row right, collection of Sayville Library;2nd row right, courtesy of Frank McAlonan;
4th row right, courtesy of Neil Spare, Jr.

 

#43, CAPTAIN CHARLES FLOYD TERRY (1850 - 1936):  House was built sometime between 1873 and 1888, probably after Captain Terry's marriage in 1875. He was one of a family of seafarers, starting in his youth on his father's ship. For many years he held both a master's ticket and a pilot's license for all Atlantic Coast ports from Maine to Florida. However, he also had a number of land ventures, one being a partnership with Charles L. Raynor, wherein they bought and operated the Sayville Steam Moulding and Saw Mill, providing lumber and building supplies from 1886 to 1895 when it was purchased by Nunns & Homan. After his death, his daughter, Louise Terry, lived in the house for some years before selling it to Genevieve Titus Murnane (1895 - 1985) who, after a brief holding period, sold it to Kenneth Carey in June 1969. In 2010, the present occupants purchased the house from the Careys.

 #49, ALBERT A. DAHN (1858 - 1940) :  House was originally built in 1888 for Robert Reed who moved in in the spring of that year. He and his wife lived there until about 1900 when she apparently moved to the Pacific Coast; thereafter, it was rented until it was sold in the fall of 1905 to Henry Harned Phelps; he was later judged to be incompetent and Albert A. Dahn acquired the property in June 1910. He had received a comfortable fortune from his father, John, who had been in the wholesale grocery business. and was also an officer in the Dennett chain of "quick-lunch" restaurants. A. A. was a director and a large stockholder in the Schulz Baking Corporation and, at his death, President of the Gottfried Baking Company and a director of the Continental Baking Company. Shortly after the death of his wife in July 1929, his health began to fail and he moved to the Kensington Hotel. He left an estate of about one million dollars and his will was contested by two nephews to whom he had left five dollars each. In August 1953, the property was acquired by Elwell Cobb (1908 - 1999), who had previously lived on Willow Street.  He was a set builder and lighting designer for Broadway and TV and a charter member of the Sayville Musical Workshop; latterly, he taught set construction and lighting at the Sayville High School. When the Cobb family bought the house for $12,000, it was on one-acre with grape arbors and a large barn which had sleeping quarters for servants as well as providing a carriage house downstairs. In the mid-1960s, the southern half of the property was sold and the barn moved over to it to become #55 Handsome. The remainder of the property was sold in 1973 for $75,000 when the Cobbs moved to Florida. Later tenants were the Ryans followed by the present occupants.

#110, CORNELIUS BEEBE (1858  -  1940): Cornelius Beebe, the eldest son of Ira Beebe (1831 - 1897), bought this property from Charles Hulse in March 1891 and his house was constructed between that time and 1902. Early in his life, Ira had been engaged in farming but later turned to the Bay and his four sons followed him; about 1895, Leonard, Edward and Ira joined Cornelius in organizing Beebe Brothers, oyster shippers. By 1902, the had built their plant on Brown's River Road (where the old Yacht Club building now stands, adjacent to Lewis Oyster). Edward died in 1903,  Leonard left the company for other  reasons and eventually Cornelius sold his interest to Ira who continued to operate it until it was bought out by Sealshipt Oyster System in 1910.  (See Business: West Sayville for more details) the John Hoost family acquired the house in the 1940s.   

 

#124, CHARLES N. ALDRICH (1850 - 1927) HOUSE:  House was originally built for Aldrich at #74 Main Street, probably by Charles Hulse in 1887 when he was also constructing the Aldrich Block. In April 1911, Aldrich had it moved to this lot which he had acquired recently from Hulse. Thereafter, he rented it summers to an Englishman, Percy W. French (1874 - 1956), owner of P. W. French & Company, New York interior decorator and art dealer. In October 1920, French bought the property. In March 1937, George S. French, son, sold the house to Philip E. Ahern (1872 - 1954), New York Freight Agent for the Lackawanna Railroad and, after retirement, in local real estate business. The Condon and then the Ragusa families were tenants of the house before the present occupants.

 

#128,  #132, #144  CHARLES H. HULSE (1834 - 1916) HOUSES: Charles Hulse,  a well -respected builder, came to Sayville in 1871 and bought up a lot of property, particularly on Handsome Avenue which he was instrumental in opening and on which his son-in-law, Thomas Overington, built the four-story, 65-room Elmore Hotel in 1888. The first of these three houses was probably #144, built in 1902; the other two followed soon thereafter. Generally, the cottages were rented until after WWI. After that, the various (excluding present) owners have included: #128 Mrs. Arthur Murphy in May 1919; later,  Ben Gugliotta (1950s), Neil Esposito (1960s-1970s) and Dr. Stephen Mitzner who sold it to the present occupants in 1991. #132, Mary Smith (1930s), William K. Letfords (early 1950s). James F. Smith (late 1950s) and James Ridge (2000s). #144, Gustav W. Thompson in June 1932, apparently succeeded by his daughter and son-in-law Waldemar H. Busing who lived there at least until 1944; they were renting on Green Avenue in 1946; later, Leo Crowley (1950s), Peter Smith (late 1950s), Thomas Murphy and Vincent Smith.

#154, SAMUEL TRIMMER (1852 - 1919):   The Hawkins family built the first house on this lot sometime between 1873 and 1888. In February 1888, S. A. Fisher of New York married Mrs. Addie Hawkins and moved into the house. Fisher, primarily engaged in plumbing and supplies, had several other businesses over the years. In March 1905, the house burned to the ground. Mrs. Fisher had a new one built on site in early 1909, adding the south veranda in 1910. In April 1911, she sold it to Samuel Trimmer who was engaged in the coal business in New York and Newark; he and his family had summered locally for several years. Following Trimmer's death, the house was acquired by Bruno Schmidt (1872 - 1956) in April 1920.

#174, RIDGEWAY/SMITH HOUSE:  Built after 1888, the original owner of this I. H. Green House was Brooklyn District Attorney James W. Ridgeway (1851-1910). Due to financial problems, he sold it to Elward Smith, local contractor and builder, in 1897. Smith died in May 1900 leaving his widow, Frances Cairns Smith (1856-1942), and her six children. In December 1902, she married Colonel (later General) Robert G. Smith, Commander of the Fourth National Guard regiment of New Jersey and superintendent of the Cunard Steamship Line in Manhattan. Upon the death of her son, Irving Elward, in France in WWI, her two surviving sons donated the monument in Sparrow Park to him and other local servicemen killed in action and his stepfather donated the Golden Eagle on the Globe which tops it; the Eagle (see postcard top) originally graced the facade of the New York World newspaper building in New York. The first VFW Post in Sayville, organized about 1920, was also named for Irving Elward Smith; in June 1926, that original Post merged with the American Legion to become the Smith-Wever Post. In October 1947,  daughter Laurie Smith Allgood moved to Maryland, the house was demolished and the land divided into two separate parcels.

 

 

 

#191, Dr. Geoffry Bourke House

 

 

 

#211,Wilbur House  (left), postmarked July 24, 1912

 

 

 

 

#211, Edward R. Wilbur House, 2014

 

 

#221, Robert Nunns House, 2014

 

 

#191 & #211 above were moved to these locations from the Frank S. Jones Estate (see below)

 

 

#191, DR. GEOFFREY BOURKE (1846 - 1914) HOUSE:  Dr. Bourke's home was originally built for him prior to 1888 (probably about 1884) on his six-acre estate on the shore at the foot of Handsome Avenue. He had emigrated from Ireland in 1880 and enjoyed a large medical practice on West 12th Street in Manhattan but also practiced in Sayville when he was here. In July 1909,  neighbor Frank S. Jones wanted that land, adjacent to his own residence, to build a house for his daughter Henrietta and her husband, William R. Simonds. Dr. Bourke  agreed to the purchase and, in that fall,  Jones had  Bourke's home moved to this site that he had owned for some time. In June 1911, Dr.  Bourke purchased the John Westerbeke house at the corner of Main Street and Tyler Avenue in West Sayville which he greatly improved. At the #191 location, Frank S. Jones rented the house for some years before selling it to Dr. Thomas A. McGoldrick (1875 - 1956) in March 1917. Dr. McGoldrick became Chief Surgeon of the New York Police Department and, over time, was also medical director of several of the City Hospitals. Ciro DiGiulio acquired the house in the early 1950s and sold it to Robert Diamond in October 1958.

#192, WILBUR COTTAGE (no image):  This was Frank Jones first summer home in town; he gave it to Edward Wilbur in 1902 as partial payment for his new property. In August 1903, Che kib Bey, a Turkish diplomat, and his retinue arrived and rented the house. William J. Binney (1873 - 1923), active in management at Waterside Storage Company in Brooklyn, acquired it in June 1905. After his death, about 1936,  his wife sold the property and moved to Greeley Avenue. The house was eventually demolished.

#211,  EDWARD R. WILBUR (1828 - 1905) HOUSE:   Wilbur was probably not only the first among "City people" to build a summer home here but also the one who made the largest land purchase to do so. He came about 1875 and acquired the former Clark Green farm of 75 acres stretching from South Country Road (Montauk Highway) to the Bay and from Green's Creek to the rear line of houses on Handsome Avenue. In June 1902, he sold the property to Frank S. Jones and moved to Oyster Bay. Jones had Wilbur's house, built by Robert Nunns in 1875, moved to this location, leaving space for him to have his own new home, Beechwold, built. (Please see both Jones and Wilbur comments below for more details). Jones rented the cottage to the Gilbert Wilson family summers through 1907. The following year, the Wilsons had to  move next door to #221 as the Roland Betts family "took possession of their cottage"; Mabel Granberry Betts was a niece of Frank Jones. The Betts separated about 1915 and Mabel kept the house. In February 1933, she declared bankruptcy. In September 1937, Annie T. Maude purchased it from the Sag Harbor Savings Bank and opened an illegal boarding house; police closed it. In July 1942, the property was sold to Mae Watson who, with her two children, moved in; in June 1943, husband Major Watson, who had been fighting with the British Army in New Guinea, arrived to join his family. . The Chester Dolny family acquired the house in the 1950s; the present occupants acquired it in 1970.

#221, ROBERT S. NUNNS (1853 - 1917) HOUSE:   Nunns was early recognized as a contractor/builder of unusual ability and, beyond following the local practice of building cottages for summer rentals, also constructed many private dwellings including those of Edward Wilbur (above), the Jones Gate House (below), William H. Terry on Foster Avenue, Charles A. Post in Bayport and numerous others in south Sayville, Babylon, Bay Shore and the East End; additionally, he completed notable public buildings including "Old '88" (Sayville School),  Congregational Church and the (Fire) Truck House. Dr. James Watt (1877 - 1945), a Brooklyn physician who had begun summering with his family in Sayville in 1910 (several of which were spent in the three cottages immediately above), bought the Nunns house in July 1920. At some point, probably in the early 1940s, the property was acquired by a Lovina Tommins who  in May 1946 sold it to Leighton H. Smith of New York. In April 1956, the house was re-sold at Public Auction.

 

 

#243, Nash on left, Elmore Hotel sign on right

 

 

#243, J. Webb Nash Sunnylawn, 1928

 

 

Sunnylawn, south garden & house, 1928

 

 

 

Sunnylawn, north lawn & summerhouse, 1928

Images: All from collection of Sayville Library

 

 

#243, JOSEPH WEBB NASH (1865 - 1951), Sunnylawn:   This approximately two acre plot had long been held by Alfred A. Fraser and his Estate, which also had substantial holdings north and west of Town; it had been farmed at one time. Thomas Otto built a house on the land in 1925 which was acquired by J. Webb Nash in July 1926 and called Sunnylawn. He had summered in Sayville since 1918 and most probably bought the property because his daughter Dorothy had married G. Elliott Morrison, builder and owner of the Cedarshore Hotel just down the street, in June 1924. Nash was with Black, Starr & Frost, New York jewelers, for 42 years, retiring as Vice-President in 1943. He then became a year-round resident. Upon his death, Mrs. Morrison moved in to care for her mother. The House was sold outside the family about 1958.

 

 

#254, Jones Gate Lodge (left),  at Elm St,

postmarked August 16, 1947

 

 

#254, Jones Gate Lodge, built 1909

 

Lower Handsome Ave, Powell House in trees (rt), postmarked August 27, 1907

 

 

#289, Powell House/ George A. Morrison,1914

 

#292, W. R. Simonds, postmarked August 4, 1911

 

 

#292, W. R. Simonds Wyndemoor, August 1915

 

 

#254, JONES GATE LODGE:  The Main Gateway and Lodge for the Jones Estate was at #272 Main Street; the Driveway to the Main House in 1926 became Benson Avenue. In 1909, after he acquired Dr. Bourke's land, Frank Jones established this second entrance to his Estate; Robert Nunns built a second Gate and Lodge, about aligned with Elm Street, replacing a previous entry which that had led to Dr. Bourke's stables. The new entry serviced both Wyndemoor and Beechwold. Among the later occupants of this Lodge was Tom Turner, who came from the City in 1952 to stage, produce and direct performances of the Sayville Musical Workshop; he left in 1966.

#289,  POWELL HOUSE, Cedarshore:   About 1886, three generations of the Powell family summered at  Robert Nunns cottage at the eastern foot of Handsome Avenue, liked it and, on January 7, 1888, bought it; they called it Cedarshore after the row of cedar trees gracing the shorefront. The "family" included David B. Powell (1821 - 1904), noted financier and ex-president of the National City Bank of Brooklyn and his wife, Hester (1825 - 1901); his son, Leander Treadwell Powell (1845 - 1893), partner in a wholesale boot and shoe business, his wife, Rebecca; and their two daughters, Isabelle and Ethel. The new Powell land stretched 900 feet from Elm Street to the Bay and about halfway (287 feet) from Handsome to Greene Avenue; in addition to the Main House, it had several outbuildings including a large barn and stables, an ice house, a windmill (latter, now at the Islip Grange) and a greenhouse added by Leander. Unfortunately, the Powell tenure here was not to be a happy one. After the deaths above enumerated,  the bludgeoning of Stephen  (David brother's ) in1896, and Rebecca's failed engagement in 1897, her interest in Sayville diminished and she leased the property for several summers. Eventually, she and her daughters decided to sell the Estate for $50,000. Alderman George A. Morrison of Brooklyn, a builder and also first President of the Greenpoint Savings Bank, had been summering at the South Bay House for several years.  He, too, liked the Town and believed that it offered good prospects as a summer resort. With the objective of building a large hotel and ten to twelve cottages on the waterfront, he bought the Cedarshore  property for $35,000 on February 28, 1913. The Main House became the George A. Morrison summer residence; almost immediately, the barn was moved to the Shore, renovated to contain bathhouses, and opened as the Cedarshore Club and construction of nine cottages begun. (Please see Hotels: Cedarshore for more details). In the spring of 1916, the Morrison family moved into one of the new cottages (however, they continued to maintain their Brooklyn home at 913 Sterling Place until 1920). For that summer, the former Powell/Morrison House was transformed into the Chateau Cedarshore and  operated as a boarding house managed by former Sayville Postmaster Louis Lafferandre and his wife. That fall it was moved to the rear and south end of the property, adjacent to the Cedarshore Casino (upgraded from the original bathing pavilion), where it was remodeled, expanded, attached and christened Hotel Cedarshore. On June 3, 1917 - just prior to opening - it burned to the ground.

#292, WILLIAM R. SIMONDS (1878 - 1933), Wyndemoor:  Geoffrey Bourke's estate had occupied the land across the street from the Powells, also extending from the Bay to about Elm Street, since the 1880s. On its west side, it bordered first Wilbur's Beech Grove and then, from 1902, Frank S. Jones' Beechwold. In 1903, Jones' daughter Henrietta married William R. Simonds, a member of the New York Exchange; they chose summering in Sayville, first in the Wilbur House and then for several years rented the Bourke cottage which stood on the Bay between Jones Beechwold and Handsome Avenue. In 1909, Jones  purchased the property from Bourke and moved Bourke's house up to #191, just north  of his Wilbur House. I. H. Green Jr. prepared the plans for the new Simonds home - stucco with a tile roof - and Ashby & Breckenridge, who had just completed Anson Hard's Meadowedge in West Sayville, did the construction at an estimated cost of  $30,000 to $40,000. In June 1910, the Simonds moved in to Wyndemoor and  it remained their summer place until 1928 when they moved to Southampton. Simonds died suddenly of  gangrene in June 1933; his wife died three years later. In April 1930, Elwell Palmer (1890-1963), a lawyer and real estate investor from Brooklyn who had been summering in Sayville, bought the Wyndemoor house, had it divided into three pieces, and moved it to #48 and #71 Benson Avenue (one piece had disintegrated en route).  He and his family lived in #71 until about 1960 when he sold it and moved to a new residence down the street.

 

 

Car in front of #311, George A. Morrison, 1917,

white stucco (middle) is #279 (see Cedarshore)

 

 

 

#299, G. Elliott Morrison Home,
Powell House in left background, winter 1915

 

 

#311, George A. Morrison House, 1915

 

 

#299 & 311, looking toward Cedarshore
tennis court and Bay, 1930s

 

 

For more pictures of Cedarshore Casino, Cottages & Hotel, please see Hotels: Cedarshore

 

 

#299 & 311, THE MORRISON HOUSES :  George Alexander Morrison (1867 - 1931) bought the Cedarshore property from the Powell Family on February 28, 1913 (see Powell above for more details). Among the nine cottages that he built there during 1913-1915 were #299 and #311 Handsome; the Morrison family moved into #311 in the spring of 1916, becoming a year-round resident in 1920. His son, George Elliott (1897 - 1938) married Dorothy Nash in June 1924 and they moved into the cottage at #259; in 1926, they moved to #299 permanently. The Morrison families remained in their respective houses until 1940 when, following the deaths of both men, the entire south end of the Cedarshore property was acquired by the Bouna Terra Corporation of New York; the families moved to two of the other Cedarshore cottages at #12 and #14 Elm Street which they had retained on the north segment of the land.

 

Return to Start of Page  

 

BENSON AVENUE
(originally, the Main Drive to both the Wilbur and Jones homesteads)

 

 

In 1875, there was still one large (75 acre) parcel of undeveloped land in Southwest Sayville stretching from a 1200 foot Bay front to South Country Road (Montauk Highway) and from the rear property line of homes on Handsome Avenue to Greene's Creek. Generally, it was devoted to farming with one exception. On the shorefront between Handsome Avenue and Greene's Creek (i. e., about where the end of Benson Avenue is now), from about 1863 until 1876, Samuel Willett Green owned and operated a menhaden/bunker plant where fish were cooked and pressed for oil; the oil was sent away to be used in paints, cod liver oil and lighting while the fish residue was sold locally for fertilizer. (See Sayville, Main Street to the Bay - Brown's River). In the Directory of Sayville, published by the local Post Office in November 1924, this was still one piece of property encompassed by the listing,
"Frank S. Jones, 272 Main Street"

 

EDWARD R. WILBUR (1828-1905), Beech Grove:  Wilbur, an avid sportsman and naturalist, was head of Forest and Stream Publishing Company, which he founded in 1873 following some years in the  stationery business. He was among the first "city people" to build a summer home here. In 1875, he purchased about 75 acres of land at public auction for $13,500, originally owned by Clark Green (1818-1880) and then sold  to a Mr. Manley for $20,000. On this parcel (detailed above) he had Charles Hulse immediately build him a residence and he developed a "working farm" named Beechcroft  which also encompassed a farm house, carriage house and barns. In June 1902, Wilbur sold the property to Frank S. Jones and moved to Oyster Bay. Jones had the Wilbur house moved to #211 Handsome Avenue. where it stands today (see photo above at #211). The Jones' house on Handsome Avenue which Wilbur received as part of the payment from Jones was sold to William J. Binney of Brooklyn in June 1905; Mrs. Binney died in October 1949 and the Victorian cottage was demolished sometime later.

FRANK S. JONES (1847 - 1927), Beechwold:  The Jones family had summered in Sayville since 1895 first at hotels and then building their first home at #191 Handsome Avenue. Frank Jones, as President, and his brothers ran Jones Brothers Tea Company and its subsidiary, Grand Union Company which pioneered supermarkets. He was anxious for a place on the shore and, through mutual friend Charles Hulse, in July 1902 was able to acquire the Edward R. Wilbur estate which offered not only a comfortable residence but also a working farm, farm house, carriage house, barns, etc. . The price was said to be close to $100,000 including Jones current home (later, the Binney House) mentioned above and valued at about $20,000. The Wilbur house was moved around the corner to become #211 Handsome (see #211 photo) on property Jones had acquired in 1901 and I. H. Green, Jr. was engaged to design a new house to replace it; it was a  three-story shingle structure ready on June 12, 1903.

 

 

 

Frank S. Jones Home, Beechwold, built 1902, postmarked June 19, 1922

 

 

 

West bathhouse & pier; among trees, Jones home center & Bourke home right, about 1907

 

 

 

Stables at Beechwold,

postmarked October 4, 1912

 

 

 

Jones 2nd Gate and gatehouse, built 1909 on the old Bourke estate and facing Handsome Ave

 

Images: All collection of Sayville Library

 

In 1905, he added a "Playhouse" which had bowling alleys and billiards; it still stands, now used as a residence. In 1903, daughter Henrietta married William R. Simonds of the New York Stock Exchange;  they continued to summer in Sayville, renting the Bourke cottage next door (between Beechwold. and Handsome Avenue). In 1909, as a gift to Henrietta and also to expand his own land, her father bought the adjacent Dr. Geoffrey Bourke estate and built a house for the Simonds. First, he had the Bourke homestead moved up the street to property at #191 that he had bought in 1901, just north of the Wilbur house (see #191 photo), I. H. Green designed a new cottage, Wyndemoor (see #292 Handsome Avenue) as a replacement. The new house, constructed by Ashby & Breckenridge at a cost of $30,000 to $40,000, was a stucco edifice with a tile roof, having a sunken rose garden on the Handsome Avenue side. The same year, the property received a new greenhouse and wagon house. The grounds  also encompassed two Bay front cabanas (moved in the 1950s to Cherry Grove as homes), a stable and two gatehouses. In 1916, Jones added a "casino" to the main house (said to rival Cedarshore across the street but here for Jones' private parties).  In September 1926, Ralph Green purchased about 40 acres of the combined Beechwold and Wyndemoor properties, including all fronting on Main Street and Green's Creek and about 800 feet of the Bay frontage and immediately re-sold them to Russell J. Perrine for his new development venture, Riviera Park; Jones retained 40 acres including some outbuildings for the family but he never visited Beechwold again. In April 1928, second daughter Maude, who had divorced  Clarence F. Westin in 1922, married David Shea, and in October 1929, they bought back 25 acres from Riviera Park bordered by 750 feet on Bay, Greene's Creek and Jones Drive; thus, the Estate again stretched from Handsome Avenue to Green's Creek. In June 1945, she sold 45 acres remaining, including the main house, to Elwell Palmer, a developer, for $100,000 and moved into the former gardener's cottage on Jones Drive. Palmer, who then subdivided a large part of the estate, sold the Main House to Dr. Daniel D. McLaughlin, a prominent Brooklyn physician, in 1949; the Doctor still owned it when it burned to the ground on May 20, 1957.

RIVIERA PARK /  RUSSELL  J. PERRINE (1876 - 1955):   Perrine, President of a Brooklyn lumber firm, began summering in Sayville about 1915 and soon thereafter became a permanent resident.  Locally he was one of the founders of the Community Trust Company, later bought by the Oystermen's Bank, and, as President, was instrumental in the development of Riviera Park. He began by acquiring and clearing the "unattractive, swampy woods" on the north side of South Country Road (Montauk Highway) between Sayville and West Sayville in August 1926, followed by the acquisition of about 40 acres of Frank Jones land in September.

 

 

Suffolk County News, July 30, 1926

 

 

Suffolk County News, August 1, 1930

 

 

 

Suffolk County News, April 5, 1929

 

 

 

 

Suffolk County News, May 3, 1929

 

 

The development was to include villas, some built around two lakes and, also proposed at various times later, a 200-room hotel, service station where the gas was dispensed from "flower pots", automotive showroom (Meder's, at Main and Garfield, later demolished), theater and a restaurant (Goodrich House, now "21 Main", was opened in May 1931 by Riviera Park Associates as the Colonial Inn and has been a restaurant ever since. ) Except for the Inn and gas station, it appears that the segment on the north side of Merrick Road (a/k/a South Country Road or Montauk Highway) diagrammed above in the first ad was never fulfilled; the intent had been to widen the brook running through it into a larger lake. Dredging Sunset Lake and other waters south to the Bay, building new roads and construction progressed slowly; some locally important people bought lots and built new homes but sales were apparently not rapid. In April 1929, Perrine, possibly noting early warnings of  "excessive speculation" and market crash, accepted Mrs. David Shea's  offer to buy back about 25 acres of her father's former property, which included a 1,000 foot canal from the Bay which Riviera Park Associates had completed. On October 29, "Black Tuesday", the market crashed and developments all over the Island were hit badly.

 

Riviera Park in the 1930s

 

 

Green's Creek passes under South Country Road

(Montauk Highway) west of Peninsula

 

 

 

View:  north end of Sunset Lake down Sunset Drive (left) toward marshlands south of Jones Drive

 

 

 

Sunset Lake meets Green's Creek; VanVranken

Yacht (left) & West Sayville (center)

 

 

 

Benson Avenue; Palmer House(ex-Wyndemoor)
in trees to left

 

Images courtesy of Elizabeth C. Whitehouse

 

The last, perhaps desperate, ad for Riviera Park in May 1933 asked the question "Would you throw away $4,000?" and  promoted instant purchase with a second question "How can you lose?" with the explanation that "Our prices today are low! - lower than those being asked for less desirable property.  However, Riviera Park  with its scenic foliage and waterfront beauty, its sensible restrictions, will be the first to reflect the now apparent tendency to higher prices". Riviera Parks Associates went into foreclosure on May 2, 1936, followed by public auction of all assets  and many of the homes there now were not constructed until the 1940s or 1950s

#71, ELWELL PALMER (1890 - 1963): Palmer headed his own law and real estate investment business. He brought his family from Brooklyn to Sayville in 1930, bought the former Simonds summer home, Wyndemoor, divided it into three parts and moved them from the foot of Handsome Avenue to Benson; there, the largest segment became his home at #71, the second that had been servants quarters ended at #48, and the third did not survive the move.

 

 

 

Suffolk County News, June 4, 1959

 

 

 

 

SCN: April 23, 1959

 

Over the next 15 years, he was very successful in his real estate investment business, acquiring and selling properties throughout the local area. In June 1945, he purchased the remainder of the Jones Estate from Maude Shea for $100,000.  This was bordered by Jones Drive, Handsome Avenue (with exception of some property at or near the corner of the two, the site of the Elmore Hotel), the Bay and Green's creek and included not only the main house but also the gate lodge, stables, bathhouses, tennis courts and, bowling alleys, all enclosed by a tall black wrought iron fence.  However, a substantial part on the west side (roughly, all west of present Palmer Drive) was still undeveloped marshland which needed to be filled in. Consequently, the following years presented multiple problems - including neighbor resistance to dredging and filling from the Creek and Sunset Lake, zoning and other challenges from the Town, new streets -  before he completed the re-development with Garden Shores around 1960.  

 

Return to Start of Page

WEST SAYVILLE


 In 1786, three parcels of land were sold by the Nicoll Estate for about three dollars and acre to local buyers; John Edwards acquired the easternmost one from Brown's River to a line between present Candee and Greene Avenues (Southeast); Willett Green acquired the center from the Edwards line to Greene's Creek (Southwest); and John Greene purchased what is now West Sayville.

 

 

FOR COMMENT ON NON-RESIDENTIAL BUILDINGS PICTURED,

PLEASE SEE APPROPRIATE SECTION: BUSINESS, CHURCHES, HOTELS, ETC.

 

 

MAIN STREET

SAYVILLE  TO CHERRY AVENUE (STREET)




Main Street, looking down the hill to Sayville, undated




#21, Goodrich House, postmarked August 5, 1941



#33, William Westerbeke House, 2014



#49 & 33, Edward & William Westerbeke Houses, 2014

 

Images: top, left, courtesy of Tony Brinkmann; all others, collection of Sayville Library

 

#21, ADELAIDE RENDELL GOODRICH (1845 -1926): The Doctors Goodrich of New Haven, CT, had summered in Sayville since the turn of the century. . In 1914, widowed Dr (Adelaide) Rendell Goodrich had I. H. Green design her new house and it was built. Age and poor health eventually encouraged her to sell it; in December 1925, P. J. Grady, local car dealer, bought it for "speculation"; the property had 680 feet on Main and a depth of about 800 feet, some of the highest ground in the Villages, a trout stream and wooded ground on the eastern end. It soon became part of Russell J. Perrine's Riviera Park development in which the stream would have become a lake centerpiece surrounded by homes; that segment of the Park was never completed.  However, in early1931, a stone-faced wall with five large brick pillars was built along the western highway frontage and in May, Perrine Associates opened a high-class restaurant called the Colonial Inn in the ex-Goodrich home. . It has remained a restaurant  ever since. (See Business: West  Sayville for more details. )

#33 and 49, WILLIAM (1859 - 1931) and  EDWARD (1865 - 1913)  WESTERBEKE :  John and Nellie Westerbeke emigrated from Bruinesse, Holland in 1849, settling in Wisconsin where all  their sons were born. In 1865, John Sr, who had been farming in the west, found a job in oystering in West Sayville and moved his family here. The Westerbeke Sons  organized their business in Oakdale in1883: John Jr supervised the water operations, Edward the business office, and William the shop. They soon became the second largest oyster shipper (after Jacob Ockers) in the area. In 1898, following Frederic Bourne's purchase of their land, they moved  headquarters to West Sayville. In the summer of 1902, they formed a partnership with others (Ockers Brothers, William Rudolph and John Van Wynne) and purchased shorefront land between Atlantic and West Avenues from Samuel Green, added to the existing pier at the foot of West Avenue,  and Green's Harbor became West Basin where they all re-established their facilities. They were bought out by Sealshipt in 1910. (See Business: West Sayville for more details ). In April 1912, Edward also initiated the building of the two brothers'  homes  which Nelson Strong completed. #49 appears to have gone out of the family in the 1920s, #33 in the 1930s.  In more recent years, these buildings became the Kingswell Home for Adults (principally veterans) but in 2011-12, they were both substantially renovated; now #33 houses the Folks Insurance Group and #49 is a private residence. (JOHN WESTERBEKE (1861 - 1941), who, in addition to shellfish, had a very active business and political life and served three terms as Islip Town Supervisor. In 1904 he bought the Tyler House (see below) and sold it to Dr. Geoffrey Bourke in 1910; he built his home at 50 Garfield Avenue.)

 

 

 

#54, Bud Van Wyen's Station, late 1940s

 

 

 

#55, 1st Reformed / Peppard & Van Emmerik, 1950s

 

 

 

#61 & 59, Originally A&P and Post Office Buildings

 

 

 

#81 & 79, S. T. Green Store & Brandt Building

 

 

 

#80 & 84, Tucker & Van Popering Buildings, about 1897

 

 

 

Main Street looking east from Atlantic Avenue,

S. T. Green and Brandt on left

 

Images: top, left, courtesy of Rosemarie Van Wyen; 2nd row, left, courtesy of Ann Azzinaro;

bottom, right, courtesy of Tony Brinkmann; all others from collection of Sayville Library

 

#55, FIRST REFORMED CHURCH:  After a pastor finally arrived in 1867, a collection of $120 was received and The First (Dutch) Reformed Church of West Sayville built a church (this building) on the north side of Main Street. Troubled by increase and traffic on Main Street, in 1906, the congregation bought land on Cherry Street (now Avenue) from Samuel P. Green, constructed a new building and moved in. Emerson Peppard acquired the empty property for his home and moving business. In 1960, John Fagan of Bayport acquired the moving business and Peppard  opened a "country store" and antique business at the same location which he operated until about 2000. The building still stands and is one of the TOI  Historic Landmarks.

 

CHERRY TO ROLLSTONE AVENUES (STREETS)

 

 

 

#93, Samuel Greene / John Bates House, undated

 

 

 

#100-108, Barfoot Block, about 1930

 

 

 

#101, Tyler Homestead, 1920s

 

 

 

#114, Grady's first garage, 1919

 

Images: top row, left, courtesy of Rosemarie VanWyen; right & bottom left,
collection of Sayville Library; bottom, right,  courtesy of Robert Grady

 

 

#93, SAMUEL PETIT  GREENE (1845 - 1936):   About 1790, William Greene, son of John Greene who acquired the land which is now West Sayville from the holders of the Nicoll Patent, built a new house (the first had burned) on the north side of road.  It was inhabited by four successive generations of the Green family until Samuel P. Greene died. In 1865, his father had built what had become more than a "General Store" on the northeast corner of their property which he continued to operate until his own death on May 31, 1936. George C. Ross purchased the business and ran it until 1950; then John P. Bates, a cousin who had inherited the property and lived in the house, had the store building floated over to Fire Island. Since John P. Bates (1897 - 1982) death, the house has been converted to an office building. The structure is of historical note because, during George Washington's tour of Long Island on April 22, 1790, he wrote in his diary, " We stopped at  the home of Mr. Greene for tea and watered our horses in the creek that runs east of his house". (For more details, please see Business: West Sayville)

#101, WILLIAM TYLER HOMESTEAD:   The house was built sometime before 1873 and the family held it until 1904. . After Captain Tyler's death in 1890, his wife Sarah and daughter Carrie continued to use it as their summer home. In November 1890, Mrs. Tyler opened Tyler Avenue along her eastern property line with Samuel P. Green and offered lots for sale which went very quickly. In 1893, she had a sizable a addition made to her building.  After her death in April 1894, in  January 1904  Carrie sold the property to Town of Islip Supervisor John Westerbeke. . He turned it over to Dr. Geoffrey Bourke, formerly of Sayville,  in 1910 who called upon I. H. Greene to design improvements  and alterations; Bourke had an extended cellar dug, renovated and added more to the building before he moved in. At about the same time, Dr. John Bourke, his son, who was in practice with his father in New York, bought the J. G. Hamburger cottage on Garfield Avenue, planning  to commute daily. Bourke, the elder, died in January 1914 and in  May 1917,  J. F. Wright of Hempstead acquired the property. P. J. Grady, local car dealer purchased it in April 1922 and lived there until 1930 when he took a one-year lease on a new house in Riviera Park. . On May 8, 1931, his ex-Tyler house was damaged by fire. In October 1932, Grady leased the building to George Meiers,  former manager of Ralph Green's poultry farm, who opened Meiers' Hotel, essentially a restaurant, and ran it until 1945. Thereafter, management of the business changed frequently (see Business: West Sayville) until the building burned on January 8, 1958.

 

 

 

Entering West Sayville from west, "Widow Molly's Inn",

 South Country Road, postmarked July 26, 1907

 

 

 

"Widow Molly's Inn", Brooklyn Eagle, March 23, 1913

 

Images: left, collection of Sayville Library; right, courtesy of Ancestry. com

 

#115, "WIDOW MOLLY'S INN":    The property which encompassed the house was part of the original Nicoll patent and the original building, itself, was believed to date back to the pre-revolutionary era. . There were multiple legends concerning its history and its ghosts, particularly of pirates. However, it also had a history as the residence of some prominent families; Frederick  G. Bourne, President of the Singer Sewing Machine Company, who began summering in Oakdale in 1889 and eventually acquired 2,000 acres locally by the time of his death in 1919;  Israel Course, whose daughter, Edith Course Evans, spent her childhood there and later died on the Titanic;  Charles A. Frost; and the Marberrry family. Perhaps the most widely accepted tale if that of Edward Richard Shaw detailed by Jack Whitehouse in his  Fire Island Heroes and Villains on Long Island's Wild Shore wherein pirates plundering the Inn take the favorite Flintlock gun of a young, healthy, wealthy and frequent  guest from Ronkonkoma, Molly wrests it back for him, the pirates are captured and Molly becomes the bride of the guest. In the spring of 1913, Commodore Bourne offered the house to any one who wished to tear it down and cart it away; Cornelius DeGraff purchased it in October 1913 and moved part of it the northwest corner of Division and Brook Streets.

 

 

 

     #195, Beintema Farm House by Henry Betjemann

 

 

 

#200, Anson Hard Residence

 

Images: left, courtesy of Rosemarie Van Wyen; right, courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum

 

#195, JOHN S. BEINTEMA (1868 - 1938):   A Dutch immigrant about 1890, Beintema lived at several locations around Sayville before buying the William H. Strong homestead in 1909; it was one of two homes west of the Greene house built about 1770.  (Gravestones of the Hulse family, who had lived in the area, were in the rear of the property; (see Business: West Sayville for more details on Beintema))

 BROOK STREET  In April 1890, Brook Street from Greeley Ave to Cherry Street was laid out and Garfield Avenue between the residences of Samuel W. Greene and Israel Green was to open soon.

 

 

 

I. H. Green, Office and Gate House on Greeley Avenue

 

 

 

Brook  Street entrance, originally Servants Quarters

 

 

 

#59, I. H. Green, Jr., on the way to the residence

 

 

 

#59, I. H. Green, Jr. residence, postmarked July 7, 1908

 

Images: All from collection of Sayville Library

 

#59, ISAAC HENRY GREEN Jr. (1859 - 1937), Brookside :  In the late 1800s, Samuel Willett Green, father of I. H. Green, Jr. (Sr. was his uncle), purchased 100 acres of land on the Sayville/West Sayville border; it encompassed a significant amount of swampland along upper Green's Creek. Around 1888, he began developing a section around the head waters, creating lakes with small islands and stocking the waters with trout. The gate house and office on Greeley was one of the first buildings I. H. designed for the his father's estate and was rented out in the earlier years to Lewis Otto. In 1911, Green made it his architectural office and drafting room; it went back to being a residence in 1919. The second "gatehouse" was built in 1888 and, after I. H. made Brookside his home, it became the servants' quarters. After the father died in January 1893, his son continued with his plans, designed a Tudor style mansion on a hill close to Cherry Street (now Avenue), and moved in in March 1897. A windmill was added later and a carriage house in September 1898. After I. H. died in 1937, the house was sold to Roscoe and Evelyn Clock; the latter died in a fire which demolished the building on November 28, 1970. After that, the land was split up and builders acquired some for developments. In August 1999, Suffolk County acquired the remainder as a Park with the Great South Bay Audubon Society acting as steward. . For more details, see Public Buildings.

 

CHERRY AVENUE (formerly "Cherry Street")

 

 

 

 

Cherry Avenue, 1900-1910

 

 

 

Looking north, postmarked September 3, 1913

 

Images: left, courtesy of Tony Brinkmann; right, collection of Sayville Library

 

TYLER AVENUE  Mrs. William Tyler opened  the new street along her eastern property line with Samuel P Green in  November 1890 and offered lots for sale which were sold quickly.

 

 

 

 

Tyler Avenue, 1920s

 

 

 

Tyler looking south, postmarked February 14, 1916

 

Images: collection of  Sayville Library

 

ROLLSTONE AVENUE

 

 

 

Rollstone Avenue, undated

 

 

 

Rollstone Avenue, looking north, undated

 

Images: courtesy of Tony Brinkmann

 

ATLANTIC AVENUE

 

 

 

Atlantic Avenue looking south, postmarked August 6, 1912

 

 

 

#108,  Goldsworth-Heitzman House, 2014

 

 

 

#138, Bluepoint Oyster Company, undated

 

Images: Collection of Sayville Library

 

#108, GOLDSWORTH-HEITZMAN HOUSE:   The Cornelius Goldsworth (1815 - 1880>) family appear to have been the first residents of this house, built in 1867. He and his wife  had emigrated from Holland,  first to Ohio and then to West Sayville,  arriving here in the 1860s. They had four sons who, like their father, were all baymen.  Originally, this "bayman's cottage", like many of those on the south shore of Long Island, was 1 1/2 stories high, had a wood frame with a flat clapboard facade and two upper  and two lower windows. Reportedly utilizing materials salvaged from the lumber schooner Benjamin O. Cromwell  which was wrecked near the Bellport Life Saving Station in a bad storm on February 22, 1904, some local homeowners, including this one,  expanded their second floors. Through inter-family marriage, the house remained within the family until it was sold to the present occupants by George Heitzman in 1989. In 2003, they put on another addition over the screened-in front porch, incorporating a large Palladian window without destroying the integrity of the original dwelling.

 

WEST AVENUE

 

 

 

#45, Leonard P. Beebe House, 1982

(at original location)

 

 

 

House on the move (500 yards) to new location  at

Long Island Maritime Museum, October 22, 1982

 

 

Long Island Maritime Museum's Featured Exhibits

 

#88, Long Island Maritime Museum  

"Bayman's Cottage"

 

 

 

West Basin, sloops at oyster houses, undated, site of  Naval Station 1918 (left) & Kingston's now (center, right)

 

Images: top row, courtesy of Long Island Maritime Museum;

bottom row, left, collection of Sayville Library & right, courtesy of West Sayville Boat Basin

 

#88, LEONARD P. BEEBE (1872 - 1944) / "Bayman's Cottage": Built in 1897-98 at #45 by Otto Thames, a local contractor,  for Jacob  Beebe, said to have been a wedding gift to son Leonard upon his marriage in April 1897. It is a typical south shore bayman's home - compact with few formal differentiations between living and working spaces with an original round root cellar. Leonard was an independent bayman (not associated with Beebe Brothers ).  Mrs. Jacoba "Cobie" Beebe Broere, his daughter, was the last of the family to live in the home and it was her wish that the building be given to the Long Island Maritime Museum. In 1982, the family did so and it was moved about 500 yards down the street to its present site on October 22 of that year; it now contains furnishings and documents typical of its period, many of which are original and came with the building. A new house, built by another member of the family replaced it at #45.

Return to Start of Page